News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?  (Read 3999 times)

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« on: June 05, 2016, 07:53:17 pm »
The emulator called "pSX" does not have the option of specifying a resolution (that I know of).

The lowest selectable full screen resolution in the Soft ePSXe Core GPU Video Plugin is 640 x 480.

How do I get a PSX emulator to run at the normal PSX resolution of 320 x 240? I need to do this to analyze screenshots, and it has to be "full screen" since the window menus and such will throw me off.

Gemini

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2026
  • 時を越えよう、そして彼女の元に戻ろう
    • View Profile
    • Apple of Eden
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2016, 07:57:39 pm »
Disable interpolation filtering and resize the window until you have square pixels. Alternatively just take screenshots with the corresponding button if it's for analysis.
I am the lord, you all know my name, now. I got it all: cash, money, and fame.

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2016, 08:05:15 pm »
Which emulator are you referring to?

As for the screenshot button, I can't get the screenshot feature to work in pSX for some reason. As for ePSXe, it saves its screenshots in the same resolution the emulator is set to.

Gemini

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2026
  • 時を越えよう、そして彼女の元に戻ろう
    • View Profile
    • Apple of Eden
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2016, 05:17:19 am »
pSX can save screenshots alright, it has a button you can map just for that. Make sure to set format to BMP (PNG is broken), open the result with paint and it's done; it will have the same resolution as the framebuffer area in game. ePSXe does something similar in software mode, otherwise it saves an upscaled output if you're using a plugin which increases internal resolution.
I am the lord, you all know my name, now. I got it all: cash, money, and fame.

Bregalad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2755
    • View Profile
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2016, 03:17:55 pm »
I do not know how to solve your problem, but the PS1 (don't call that console PSX, this name means nothing) do not have a fixed resolution, like the NES for instance. Both vertical and horizontal resolution could be changed for different games, and can even change between screens of the same game. So not all agmes are necessary 320x240. They could go up to twice that.

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2016, 11:13:04 pm »
I do not know how to solve your problem, but the PS1 (don't call that console PSX, this name means nothing)

Quote
The original prototypes were codenamed PS-X, for PlayStation Experimental.

http://www.ign.com/articles/2012/03/09/the-secret-code-of-new-consoles

Quote
SCEA hated the name and wanted to change it to PSX, a contraction of the project’s codename.

Quote
In Europe, at least: the US nevertheless went ahead with early trade promotion, calling it PSX, and had even come up with its own mascot, Polygon Man.

https://web.archive.org/web/20120817210220/http://www.edge-online.com/features/making-playstation?page=5

I'll call it whatever I want, even if I'm sued for using a "console slur".

Gemini

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2026
  • 時を越えよう、そして彼女の元に戻ろう
    • View Profile
    • Apple of Eden
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2016, 04:52:04 am »
The internal name is indeed PS-X, it's still there even as a signature for executables. Sony did a mess with the DVR PS2, which shares an almost identical name, but any sane person would recognize it as the first PlayStation due to calling it PSX for over 20 years now.
I am the lord, you all know my name, now. I got it all: cash, money, and fame.

Valendian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2016, 06:46:06 pm »
The psx frontend can force psx to run in a 320x240 window, grab it from here
http://psxemulator.proboards.com/thread/1060/third-party-utilities

https://sites.google.com/site/ultimasites/psx-frontend

fixed dead link
« Last Edit: June 29, 2016, 07:20:57 pm by Valendian »

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2016, 12:01:36 am »
pSX can save screenshots alright, it has a button you can map just for that. Make sure to set format to BMP (PNG is broken), open the result with paint and it's done; it will have the same resolution as the framebuffer area in game. ePSXe does something similar in software mode, otherwise it saves an upscaled output if you're using a plugin which increases internal resolution.

I changed pSX's settings to save in BMP instead and hit F12 at the screen I wanted.

It says it saves a file, but there is nothing in \screenshots. :huh:

Doesn't work if I change it to JPG, either.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2016, 12:07:27 am by NERV Agent »

FCandChill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
    • View Profile
###
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2016, 12:36:46 am »
Comment removed because reasons...
« Last Edit: August 26, 2016, 01:03:23 am by FCandChill »

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Re: Force normal 320 x 240 resolution in PSX emulator?
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2016, 01:24:27 am »
'K, I think I figured this out.

I made a fresh installation of pSX v1.13.

Also, since I like using GameShark, I downloaded “pSX v1.13 Cheat Edition.exe” from here:

https://link-4share.com/download/ATZywSxW/pSX_v113_Cheat_Edition.html

Using pSX v1.13 Cheat Edition, the only settings I changed were the controller settings, and the Full screen NTSC settings to 320 x 240.

I simply hit Prt Scr on my keyboard and paste into JASC Paint Shop Pro 9, and it seems to work. It even pastes it in the proper 320 x 240 resolution.

However, I have Bilinear interpolation checked since it is a default setting. Should I uncheck that?