News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Trying to make an RPG Maker 2 (SFC) ROM hack  (Read 5201 times)

Borchmore

• View Profile
Trying to make an RPG Maker 2 (SFC) ROM hack
« on: February 25, 2016, 11:53:36 am »
Hello guys, I'm new to this forum and hope I am asking this question in the right place. I'll start by saying that I have some programming experience (mostly Java), but have never tried ROM hacking before. Anyways, on with my question.

I'm currently making a game using RPG Maker 2 for the Super Famicom. If you're not familiar with this title, it's a very basic RPG Maker that was released in Japan only and was compatible with the Satellaview (I'm not exactly sure what the Satellaview capabilities were, but that's irrelevant to my situation anyways). There already is an English translation of this ROM, however I have a different problem. All of the data created for your game saves to the SRAM, meaning that without the save file, the ROM will only have the default game saved to it, not the game you have created. I want to know if it is possible to write the information in the SRAM directly to the ROM so that I have a single ROM file containing my game. If so, I would also like to know how I could do this, as I can't find any information about this (note: I'm not asking you guys to do this ROM hack for me, rather if you can give some information on how I can do it myself). If you need any more information, I'd be glad to provide it. Thanks for your help!

chillyfeez

• View Profile
Re: Trying to make an RPG Maker 2 (SFC) ROM hack
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2016, 02:57:19 am »