News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Minor Translations Questions  (Read 2134 times)

Chiche

• View Profile
Minor Translations Questions
« on: February 14, 2016, 11:27:30 pm »
Hi, I'm currently playing the PSX game Super Robot Wars Alpha, which is only on Japanese, and I've been translating the words to English on a Notepad just to remind what everything means on menus and stuff like that, but I'm thinking about patching the game so I can play more freely.

I'm playing .bin and .cue files on ePSXe emulator on Windows 7, I've never hacked any game before but I'm a programmer and I'm only trying to translate menus and skills and items names so I thought it might not be too hard.

If you could give me a few directions, what to read, what to use, it would be great :)

Thanks in advance !

A little update: I've read the "Getting Started" section and I've slightly read the "The ART of Rom Hacking", "The Definitive Guide to ROM Hacking for Complete Beginners" and the PSX translating document, but I have a few questions:

- At this time, I'm still not sure what kind of file do I need for start editing, I have a .bin and .cue

- If I'm not wrong, using a Hex Editor and maybe editing and creating a table is enough for translating what I want ?

Basically I'm not exactly understanding what to do with my files and how to locate what I must edit, from there on I think the documentation I have must be enough and I should be able to handle it or at least google it, as I perfectly understand pointers, hexadecimal, etc. and I'm used to use google for problems.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2016, 12:49:33 am by Chiche »

BlackDog61

• View Profile
    • Super Robot Wars A Portable translation thread
Re: Minor Translations Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2016, 02:56:39 pm »
Hey!

I'm only trying to translate menus and skills and items names so I thought it might not be too hard.