News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Startropics Japanese Translation  (Read 6990 times)

Sky_Yoshi

• I hate programmings!
    • View Profile
    • My links
Startropics Japanese Translation
« on: December 21, 2015, 04:08:22 am »
I am going to translate Startropics to Japanese because.. I'm Japanese.
Can somebody have an information to change the text in StarTropiocs?
Hi! I'm Sky Yoshi, a Japanese RomHacker.
I am an beginner of a RomHacker and I'm here because I am interested.
I am trying to hack the stages of SMB1

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Startropics Japanese Translation
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2015, 08:58:37 am »
I don't know how much he's done but Tomato had looked a little bit into hacking the game.
Next to the Mother series and Final Fantasy IV, StarTropics is his next favorite game and he also would like to see a Japanese translation of it.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

abw

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2015, 09:50:52 pm »
I haven't played around with this game much, but I've added the beginnings of a table file on the wiki. It's missing some of the control codes, but it should still be enough to get you started.

Sky_Yoshi

• I hate programmings!
    • View Profile
    • My links
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2015, 01:23:03 am »
Thank you for the information.
Also, I altered the CHR bank to add the japanese.
URL:http://www.fastpic.jp/viewer.php?file=9114289906.png

VicVergil

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2015, 11:03:35 am »
That's one project I really wondered why it didn't happen before :P

Since you want this game translated, I assume you're already familiar with stuff like relative search (make table) and hex editors (load rom + table) and tile editors (edit graphics and character font)?

I'd like to know why did you go with the katakana instead of hiragana.