News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Pokemon Text Editing  (Read 7096 times)

WalkerWaits

• View Profile
Pokemon Text Editing
« on: October 21, 2015, 11:39:12 pm »
Hi everyone.
I've been using the utilities of this site for a few years, but just registered for the first time today. Wondering if someone might offer some advice. I'm looking to directly edit text in my pokemon fire red hack. Trying to rebuild basically an original game on the level of Snakewood or similar hacks. I've been using a hex editor but I'm running out of time and it's unbearably slow. The pokemon front-ends I can find all seem to be loaded with malware.

The little I need to do in terms of sprite and world editing I'm happy to do in hex but does anyone know of any sort of front-end program that will let me see and manipulate all text in the game? Or, other suggestions of easier ways to do this. Thanks so much.

-Walker

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Pokemon Text Editing
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2015, 01:25:07 am »
The pokemon front-ends I can find all seem to be loaded with malware.
but does anyone know of any sort of front-end program that will let me see and manipulate all text in the game?
People could start suggesting them, but if you've already looked and determined that they're all "loaded with malware", what's the point..?

Perhaps you could give an example of something you've seen that you'd like to use and what makes you think there's malware involved?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

WalkerWaits

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2015, 01:03:16 pm »
People could start suggesting them, but if you've already looked and determined that they're all "loaded with malware", what's the point..?