News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]  (Read 12459 times)

Zeikar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]
« Reply #60 on: December 16, 2016, 07:26:58 am »
http://arstechnica.com/security/2016/12/fedora-and-ubuntu-0days-show-that-hacking-desktop-linux-is-now-a-thing

Please don't put untrusted .spc files in spc2it because I haven't tested it for vulns yet.
Please don't talk to yourself it's the first sign of madness, nah jk bro, but seems your comment on arstechnica was overlooked too.
My media player has an SPC plugin, I believe, is there any real benefit to converting to Impulse Tracker? I don't really edit audio in roms or listen to SPCs very often, just curious.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2016, 07:36:17 am by Zeikar »

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2916
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]
« Reply #61 on: December 19, 2016, 10:38:22 pm »
My media player has an SPC plugin, I believe, is there any real benefit to converting to Impulse Tracker?

It would be beneficial if you want to edit the song or perhaps if you want to use the same sound samples to write something else. I'd like to try this program because I have some minor changes I want to make to a bunch of songs in a particular game. It would be nice to do the experimenting portion in a tracking program rather than having no way to try these changes out without loading very specific parts of the game each time I want to hear what it would sound like. Unfortunately, I downloaded it and when I clicked on it, it disappeared like one of those DOS programs that requires a command prompt. Maybe it is and does but it's kinda hard to know that with no instructions.
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

uyjulian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]
« Reply #62 on: December 19, 2016, 11:06:56 pm »
It would be beneficial if you want to edit the song or perhaps if you want to use the same sound samples to write something else. I'd like to try this program because I have some minor changes I want to make to a bunch of songs in a particular game. It would be nice to do the experimenting portion in a tracking program rather than having no way to try these changes out without loading very specific parts of the game each time I want to hear what it would sound like. Unfortunately, I downloaded it and when I clicked on it, it disappeared like one of those DOS programs that requires a command prompt. Maybe it is and does but it's kinda hard to know that with no instructions.
Open the command line
Drag the spc2it.exe into the command line
Press enter for help

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2916
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]
« Reply #63 on: December 19, 2016, 11:26:55 pm »
Awesome. Thanks. Cool program.
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

uyjulian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]
« Reply #64 on: January 22, 2018, 11:22:31 pm »
Plans for 2018:

Store logged DSP writes while SPC emulation is being done, then process them afterwards after SPC emulation is finished
Port Moonscript changes back to C
Noise emulation (possibly new samples?)
Auto loop detection

Future plans:

SPC emulator for PS(1/2) for native playback on SPU(2) (The SPC and SPU are both made by Sony, but I'm not sure how similar they are)
Soundfont/MIDI extraction

Enjineer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: spc2it [Convert SPC into Impulse Tracker format]
« Reply #65 on: February 02, 2018, 04:25:39 pm »
Hi, new user here. I've tried your program, and it works great! However, I'm trying to convert the .it to .mid to allow for editing, and it has an absurdly high tempo when I do so - OpenMPT estimates the BPM to be 1500! Is there a way to fix this?