Entaku no Seito: The Eternal Legend for psp scripts

Started by kaikaiser, August 13, 2015, 04:38:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kaikaiser

Hello everyone. This is my first post on the forum. I want to do an English menu and items (and story if I can get all the files extracted) patch for Entaku no Seito: The Eternal Legend on psp i have extracted all the files from the iso and get a lot of .bin and some .pak files. There is also a few img files too. im still new to rom hacking and could use all the help I can get. I tried other forums but no one wants to help. So I was told to come here where people were nice and might help. Could you give me advise on what tools I need to extract those files and then once translated put them back?  I tried a few programs to extract and none of them could open the bin or pak. Thanks in advance!!

BlackDog61

Hi there!

Not all files can be "extracted", especially because in general, each game is unique, therefore you need specific tools just for your use.
Note: I can't recommend the "getting started" section of this site too much.
Having said that, my personal first action in general is to use "sjis dump" (a tool from this site) and see what happens.
You should see things if you apply it here.
Ex: 王冠マークが表示されるようになります。

Maybe not everything (especially story) - I cannot tell as I cannot read Japanese.

Good luck!

kaikaiser

First I want to say THANK YOU so much has for your reply. I have been all over the Web and many other forums and site with no help what so ever. OK I will try the dump and see what happens. It a start. I would be happy to just do a menu patch. At least the menu/skills/items would be translated. So the next noob question is I dump each of the bin, data and pak files separately then?

cool so 王冠マークが表示されるようになります。 translates to: the crown mark has appeared.

In battle a crown  mark appears over an emery inside traps on the map. Cool!

BlackDog61

Quote from: kaikaiser on August 14, 2015, 10:32:13 PM