News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)  (Read 10937 times)

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« on: May 02, 2015, 01:34:28 pm »
Hi!

I want to do That with TIMviewer, i extract the original image, and paste over it the new image, convert to .tim and replace inside the Game BUT i see this




How can i solve the problem of palette?

mz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Whore
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2015, 01:53:41 pm »
and paste over it the new image
What are you using for this step?

The only program that I know of, that doesn't mess with the palettes during this step, is Windows XP's Paint...
There has to be a better life.

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2015, 04:49:01 pm »
What are you using for this step?

The only program that I know of, that doesn't mess with the palettes during this step, is Windows XP's Paint...


Control+C to copy and Control+ V to paste over the original image :)

mz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Whore
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2015, 06:29:56 pm »
Control+C to copy and Control+ V to paste over the original image :)
Yeah, that's clever...

Anyway, I was asking what *program* are you using. Not every one of them handles the palette the same way when they're saving the edited file.
There has to be a better life.

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2015, 07:05:31 pm »
Yeah, that's clever...

Anyway, I was asking what *program* are you using. Not every one of them handles the palette the same way when they're saving the edited file.

Photoshop to copy and paste and tim wiever to convert bmp to tim and viceversa.

Now im trying to solve the problem about the palettes with "character maker Pro" but id ont unsderstand how to edit that....

mz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Whore
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2015, 08:23:42 pm »
Photoshop messes up the palette of BMPs, so never save the file with it.

You need to do this to make it work correctly:
1. Copy the new image from Photoshop.
2. Open the unmodified BMP in MS Paint.
3. Paste the copied image into MS Paint.
4. Save the BMP in MS Paint.

You have to start from the unmodified file again, of course. (Not with with the one that's already corrupted.)
There has to be a better life.

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2015, 10:34:36 pm »
Photoshop messes up the palette of BMPs, so never save the file with it.

You need to do this to make it work correctly:
1. Copy the new image from Photoshop.
2. Open the unmodified BMP in MS Paint.
3. Paste the copied image into MS Paint.
4. Save the BMP in MS Paint.

You have to start from the unmodified file again, of course. (Not with with the one that's already corrupted.)


Well i did what you said and this is the result




BUT WAIT... i think i found the problem   is the "BPP" in that image is "16" but in the other is "4" so i will try to edit it :3

mz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Whore
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2015, 11:04:37 pm »
BUT WAIT... i think i found the problem   is the "BPP" in that image is "16" but in the other is "4" so i will try to edit it :3
I see. That means that your MS Paint is messing with the palette too. I've only tried the XP Paint...

If you can't find a program that doesn't change the BPP, you can try using the TIM plugin for Photoshop, although it may not be very legal, and it's a bit more complex.
There has to be a better life.

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2919
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2015, 11:10:50 pm »
I've ran into this problem with some Zelda graphics before, cutting and pasting out of MS Paint and into YY-CHR. I think GIMP is about the only thing that doesn't mess up the palettes.
Cigarettes, ice-cream, figurines of the Virgin Mary...

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2015, 11:13:29 pm »

I see. That means that your MS Paint is messing with the palette too. I've only tried the XP Paint...

If you can't find a program that doesn't change the BPP, you can try using the TIM plugin for Photoshop, although it may not be very legal, and it's a bit more complex.


Well the bpp is different the side and numer of side too, however im happy because i can replace a image inside a game!

Do you know another option?

I want to try all the posibilities  :thumbsup:

I've ran into this problem with some Zelda graphics before, cutting and pasting out of MS Paint and into YY-CHR. I think GIMP is about the only thing that doesn't mess up the palettes.

Hmmm this game is Digimon Rumble Arena 1 but i wil try with gimp, thanks man

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2919
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2015, 11:53:57 pm »
In this case I dont think it matters which game the graphics come from. The problem is coming from the program that the graphics are being cut/pasted out of before being put into whatever the other program is that you are using.

I was editing graphics in MS Paint and for whatever reason anything I cut/pasted out of it and into YY-CHR had the colors corrupted because of something that MS Paint was doing.
Cigarettes, ice-cream, figurines of the Virgin Mary...

Gemini

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2026
  • 時を越えよう、そして彼女の元に戻ろう
    • View Profile
    • Apple of Eden
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2015, 12:19:47 am »
Paint Shop Pro and Photoshop are usually the best when you need your palettes go unchanged: PSP tends to give you full and better control, but Photoshop is plain better for quantization & reduction. Regular Paint simply sucks with palettes, it can't even manage them correctly.
I am the lord, you all know my name, now. I got it all: cash, money, and fame.

BlackDog61

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 784
    • View Profile
    • Super Robot Wars A Portable translation thread
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2015, 01:50:32 pm »
I've ran into this problem with some Zelda graphics before, cutting and pasting out of MS Paint and into YY-CHR. I think GIMP is about the only thing that doesn't mess up the palettes.

Just a quick note that, although it doesn't mess up with RGB components, GIMP does simply forget about transparency (alpha). Nothing that can't be corrected by dumping the original palette and re-inserting it, of course. ;)

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2015, 03:36:41 pm »
this is a new result!



Look the size,bpp, size and number of zides is the same than the original from the game! YAY

BUT how you can see... kari is  in the dark, so i must browser the configuration of the original images and do the same with the edited images :D!

just 1 thing i changed... the index of the image.... before was RGB, now i tried with "index" and that was the result.

May 10, 2015, 10:46:53 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
i found something new about this images!


What is "number of sets"?

how can i make a new "one"?



« Last Edit: May 10, 2015, 10:46:53 pm by krloxvj »

krloxvj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2015, 11:06:01 pm »
I think here is the problem




Palettes, colores, all in "opcions"...

This game must have a configuration to show correctly the images so i will test all options one per one, i dont have another idea to solve this  :-[

SC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #15 on: May 13, 2015, 08:47:04 pm »
Why don't you use this much better TIM manipulation tool?
http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/799/
https://code.google.com/p/tim2view/

I hope it helps you, since you seem a bit clueless about TIM file manipulation.

releasethedogs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2015, 03:13:41 am »
Over 10 years ago I found a photoshop plug-in to import/export .TIM files. I guess you could google it and find it because it's out there, somewhere.

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2016, 07:18:51 pm »
Necro-bump because this is actually relevant (and easier for others to find it all in one thread).

I, too, am trying manipulate ".TIM" files and wish to replace graphics in a PSX game with other images.

I am using this, and I'm thrown off by the "Frame buffer position X / Y" option in the TIM Properties window that pops up when you try to export a ".TIM" file. What do I enter into these fields? And should I check the "include palettes" box?

May 14, 2016, 07:43:48 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed but chocolate buttsex is.)
Ah! Just figured out a neat trick!

Use JASC Paint Shop Pro 9 and change your image to 256 color. Go to  Image -> Decrease Color Depth -> 256 Colors then save it as a ".bmp".

Then, use TimViewer to convert it to a ".TIM".

If what you want to replace uses the ".MNU" extension, use MNU-TIMjector. Otherwise, use Tim2View to import the new image.

Just thought I'd share this if anyone else is learning like I am.
Disregard this. I chuck blocks.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2016, 08:23:12 pm by NERV Agent »

Gemini

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2026
  • 時を越えよう、そして彼女の元に戻ろう
    • View Profile
    • Apple of Eden
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2016, 07:44:16 pm »
1) If the original image uses a CLUT (color look-up table, i.e. palettes) you need to check the use palette box or otherwise you'll see glitched graphics.
2) If the game uses coordinates stored into TIM chunks, then you should grab those from a converted picture and paste them over when you're done editing. Not every game actually bothers about those coordinates, but you can never be sure until you try.
I am the lord, you all know my name, now. I got it all: cash, money, and fame.

NERV Agent

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Eva Unit 01
    • View Profile
    • Watch my anime shitposts on YouTube! Smell them, too!
Re: How to create a .TIM image? (PSX)
« Reply #19 on: May 14, 2016, 08:20:43 pm »
How do I replace a 256 color CLUT in a PSX ".TIM" file with a 256 color palette from a ".BMP" file?

I mean, besides going into Tim2View and changing all 256 color entries one by one.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2016, 08:31:54 pm by NERV Agent »