News:

11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Main Menu

Correspondence between ZST and SRM?

Started by Mooch, February 17, 2015, 05:08:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mooch

Hey everyone, I'm new to hacking, I've been reading through the introductory material (and it suuuuucks -- no offense, but it's all YEARS outdated and very poorly written; it's no help at all) and had a quick question regarding SNES hacking.

What's the correspondence between save states and saveram? Are the addresses the same? If I discover an address in a save state for, say, a character's name (presuming it's immutable and not player-changable), could I crack open the saveram, go to the same address, and alter that character's name? Or is a save state (I use ZSNES as is the standard) a subset of the saveram? Or is there no general, reliable relationship between the two at all?

Thanks ^_^

Seihen

First and foremost, you're talking about SNES hacking here, I presume, which kinda throws into question how "out of date" the information is. The system was made in the early 90s, so no matter how old the information gets, there's no way it will be "out of date."  Though I will agree that some of the programs referenced aren't the newest, latest, and greatest (and the websites mentioned may no longer exist). The information itself, however, is still as useful now as it was then.

NOW! Onto your question...
SRAM is essentially the 'save file' that the game generates and contains only the information needed for a save. In the case of an RPG, it would include HP and MP (current and max), level, equipment, spells, and names, etc. for all members in your party. It'd have how much money you hold, what and how many items, and all that stuff. Basically, whenever you load up an RPG and select your file, all the information that you had saved is contained in the SRM file.