News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Modernizing Retro Games?  (Read 3861 times)

MegaSkeleton

• View Profile
Modernizing Retro Games?
« on: December 22, 2014, 11:46:58 pm »
I've had the desire to mod old games and improve them more towards our modern standards, so as to make them accessible and their appeal last for several decades more, but am unsure what is in the scope of romhacking.  I notice most tools I've found to be more specialized into doing things like modding graphics or changing settings...but how are those tools built?  I have some moderate coding experience and am wondering what it takes to look into the lines of code that the game is built on itself?

If it helps, here's an example of the type of stuff I'm thinking about:

I've recently played Shining Force for the first time and found it an enjoyable game, but held back by a variety of factors. 
1) Shopping in town and managing inventory is excruciating by modern standards.  10 menus to buy 1 item for 1 guy, and not even being able to tell if its an upgrade before purchasing?  One rushed misclick and you have to start over?  Not good.  If I were to rethink some of the menus to make them much easier to buy items in bulk for different characters, is that kind of stuff possible?  What about expanding inventory for characters or adding some kind of junk tab that is inaccessible during battles (i.e. represents all the items in your bags, rather than items you have equipped/available on hand)
2)Skip enemy turns in which they do not act.  A big slowdown of pace in gameplay occurs when you're tackling one enemy on the map yet every other enemy gets his turn.  Could I change the logic so that before moving the camera to enemies, highlighting the cursor on them, etc. etc. to run a check to see if the enemy will attack/move, and if it won't to just skip those processes entirely?