News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Need Programming Advice  (Read 8042 times)

Gideon Zhi

• Discord Staff
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
Re: Need Programming Advice
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2015, 06:27:18 pm »
I think you exagerate a little when you say "incredible awkward". I've read quite often code by other, and common Python code is generally (not always) much easier to understand than C++ for example.

As for the untyped things, as far as it means anything (it's dynamically typed, which is different from what you said, but I suppose you know it), I agree that it's not a good thing for a beginner. But it's sometimes really handful :) And Python works much better as a first language for complete beginners (then again, from a teacher point of view).
I

Working in an enterprise environment with python driving automated tests and having a shared codebase that half a dozen engineers contribute to and have to make use of, figuring out exactly what any given object is supposed to do, what member methods it contains, and how to access the data it holds when said engineers don't comment their code? Trust me, it's a massive headache. I've used the analogy before elsewhere, but in my experience trying to use someone else's python code in yours is like coming into a ten-season TV series halfway through the sixth season.

Dr. Floppy

• Restricted Access
  • Make America GREAT Again!
    • View Profile
    • BaddestHacks.net
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2015, 07:04:22 pm »
If you want to learn 6502, you're best off just starting there. The higher-level stuff doesn't really have anything to do with programming NES games.
^^^ THIS ^^^

KaioShin

• RHDN Patreon Supporter!
    • View Profile
    • The Romhacking Aerie
« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2015, 03:53:53 am »