News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Trying to translate a game  (Read 1575 times)

Lime

• View Profile
Trying to translate a game
« on: November 03, 2014, 01:52:08 pm »
Hello!
I want to change the language from Japanese to English in the game Sim City Jr for the SFC. Because the game is available in English on the PC, it shouldn't be too difficult.
I have never done stuff like this before and I need some help, this is as far as I have gotten:
With WindHex I have found where all the characters are located, they are at the offset 00071FDE and it looks like this (viewed in Tile Layer Pro):

I have tried to make a table for the characters but the information on how from the Getting Started page is very outdated and I can't seem to get it to work.

Any help is appreciated!

BlackDog61

• View Profile
    • Super Robot Wars A Portable translation thread
Re: Trying to translate a game
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 02:12:35 pm »
Hello!
I want to change the language from Japanese to English in the game Sim City Jr for the SFC. Because the game is available in English on the PC, it shouldn't be too difficult.
I have never done stuff like this before and I need some help, this is as far as I have gotten:
With WindHex I have found where all the characters are located, they are at the offset 00071FDE and it looks like this (viewed in Tile Layer Pro):

I have tried to make a table for the characters but the information on how from the Getting Started page is very outdated and I can't seem to get it to work.

Any help is appreciated!

Actually, that page is still relevant for the topic you raised, method-wise.
The picture tells you the order of the characters. And you hope they are number X+O where X is an unknown constant value, and O is the order in that picture.