Golden Sun (The Lost Age) MIDI/Sound Engine

Started by MetaKnick, August 20, 2014, 05:00:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MetaKnick

So I'm going to be blunt. I can't hack or mod much really. I'm interested in it, but asm looks like a nightmare to me.

I've been messing around with Golden Sun's music lately with the use of "GBA Mus Riper" and I noticed some things in the midi events. Every song has a midi controller that says "NOT USED: Effects level=79". Now obviously it's not used because it's something specific to the sound engine. I'm pretty sure it's the reverb.
There's also the synth instruments that weren't converted at all because they're produced with the game's sound engine. They have "NRP [fine/course], RP [fine/course], and Data Entry [coarse].

I don't even know where to start reverse engineering. As I said, I've never done it before. It would be really cool if someone was willing to check this out! And if not, at least someone could point me in the right direction.

Bregalad

The sound format used internally by Golden Sun (and the majority of other GBA games) is similar to MIDI, but is not exactly MIDI, as you seem to be thinking. For instance, there is no "controllers" in this format.
The format is described in the notes I have uploaded here.

GBAMusRiper by default does not do a 1:1 conversion of the data that is in the ROM, it makes them more usable : It logarithmizes the volume changes and the note velocities, and converts various commands to controllers, pitch wheels and RPNs. I think I also added a reverb controller at the start of every track if reverb was enabled for the song, this "controller" is not existant in the original data : The reverb is enabled song-wise : Either the reverb is enabled for all Direct Sound channels, or it is disabled. You can't enable it individually for each track. Again this is to make the resultant MIDI more "usable". Reverb depth is controller 91 by the way, I'm pretty sure this is General MIDI standard.