News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Attempting first project: a few questions.  (Read 4370 times)

11tw

• View Profile
Attempting first project: a few questions.
« on: August 11, 2014, 06:15:54 pm »
Hi, I'm new to romhacking. I've taken it up as a way to learn binary and hex coding. My original plan was to level/stat edit the Japan-only release Fire Emblem: Mystery of the Emblem, in order to make units more balanced.
I have:

The translated ROM
Znes emulator

I have read as many guides as I could, but none of them go into the specifics of level editing, most of them mention either a) using hexadecimal code to edit a ROM or b) using/making a level editor.
I am not keen on using a pre-made level editor, as I would prefer to do this from scratch.

What would really help me start out would be:

1) a link to an in-depth guide into level editing
2) some advice on which method of hacking would be best to complete my target
3) any corrections on anything I've got wrong so far, programmes I should install, incorrect use of terminology etc.

thanks for any feedback,
11tw

STARWIN

• View Profile
Re: Attempting first project: a few questions.
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 06:58:19 pm »
Well, if I were to do this from scratch, I'd need a debugger emulator (such as http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/241/ ) and possibly a hex editor (such as XVI32). Then I would play around with the debugger emulator emulating the game and find and document the locations and format of the data I want to edit. Then I would either write a small tool or manually change the values in the ROM to what I want. Done!

But to understand what the concepts in the debugger emulator mean, you should probably understand some SNES CPU and memory basics. For just changing maps and unit properties you probably won't have to code anything in asm, but being able to read it is still kind of useful.