News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Expanding SNES pointer tables from 2-byte to 3-byte  (Read 4540 times)

gorgyrip

• View Profile
Expanding SNES pointer tables from 2-byte to 3-byte
« on: August 05, 2014, 01:33:12 pm »
Please bear with me, i'm a complete noob at this. The game in question it's HIROM and without a header. The rom it's 1,5 mega and i expanded it to 2 mega. I need to have all the text in the expanded area.
The text starts at the adress 07609A.
That makes the pointer 9A60 at the adress 76090, so the pointer table starts at 76090.

I found a document by KingMike. It starts like this:
"Well, first you're going to need to find out if the text routine itself is using absolute (2-byte) or long (3-byte) addressing mode to read your script.
So, use tracing to find out where your script is being read from."

My question: How to do that?

puzzledude

• View Profile
Re: Expanding SNES pointer tables from 2-byte to 3-byte
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 05:11:44 pm »
-
« Last Edit: August 06, 2014, 07:52:36 am by puzzledude »

Gideon Zhi

• Discord Staff
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 05:37:32 pm »
Okay, this is mostly wrong. I'll elaborate but I wanted to get this out there ASAP so nobody went and took it as gospel. I'll immediately be editing this post with clarifications.

What you want to do depends greatly on the game, depends on how much text you're talking about in the grand scheme of things, depends on how much text gets accessed using a particular printing routine.

You CAN change a 2-byte pointer into a 3-byte pointer, but it requires some assembly-level hacking. It's one of the simplest hacks though (and was one of my very first) so it's a good first learning step. However, if there's not much text it might make more sense to move the pointer table somewhere else and deal with bank restrictions as puzzledude says.

There are a few points here that are 100% wrong, that I want to lay out immediately: