News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to make a successful project (Why projects succeed or fail)  (Read 6136 times)

LinkSavesHyrule

• Translator
    • View Profile
Greetings everyone,

I'm very new here, so I'd like to nail down what does and doesn't make a project successful. I'd greatly appreciate any and all input, as I have very little experience with ROMhacking, but I do have experience in leading a successful team.

So, let's get started:

Please keep in mind this topic focuses mostly on translation teams, as that is what I have the greatest interest in doing.

Developing a team
Team chemistry is extremely important for any project. This is even more important when the team is made up of strangers on the internet who may not have any communication outside of message boards.

What successes have you had when creating a team?
Have you put much thought into it, or do you prefer to do a project in a style similar to, "Well, whoever wants to help can help, but I'll do most of the work."
Make makes a good ROMhacking team? Does a team consisting of a hacker and a translator work well? Would some projects need multipler hackers, or multiple translators? What about an artist? How small should a team be to be successful?

Communication
How do you communicate with your teams?

Are you mostly a solo act, only interacting with people on the forums?
Do you get to know your team? Possibly having phone conversations or even meet ups?
Do you keep in touch with your audience, or do you ignore them?

Structure
Now here's the big one. While I am excruciatingly inexperienced, I'd venture that this area is the reason why so many projects go into Limbo, fail, or take forever to finish.

Do you appoint one person as a leader for the project?
Is there a schedule?
Do you regularly have meetings with other members of the team?
Do you lose contact with members?