News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Changing the starting date on SNES rom and troops  (Read 2471 times)

LorD-16

• View Profile
Changing the starting date on SNES rom and troops
« on: June 10, 2014, 04:13:49 am »
The SNES game is the Koei classic Liberty or Death. The game starts in the summer on the date July 1, 1775. The game has 2 turns per month (1st and 16th of each month). I have found nearly everything except the starting date. The game will automatically end on January 1, 1820 (45 years to try and win the game). It seems to be hidden well and I'm not a programmer, just a fan of the game.

I want to make the game into a Civil War game, but I need to be able to change the starting date for a more authentic feel. 1861-1865 was the American Civil War so I would probably start in 1860 or 1861 and have the game automatically end in 20 years( about 1860-1880). I also want to be able to change the total number of troops per unit. I found maximum men and can change that to 1000+ per regiment but once the men reach 511 then they go to 0 instead of 512. I would like to be able to prevent the loop back to 0 if possible.

Does anybody have any experience or tips for finding the starting dates, or calendar info, or specific years within a SNES rom? I tried the hex value of 1775, and even tried searching the ram using the emulator, but I can't find it. Any info on why the total troops go back to 0 when the total reaches 512? Any help or guidance to help me finish my Civil War version of Liberty or Death is greatly appreciated.

EDIT**** Update: I have found the ability to switch sides using a save state file. Offset 2FEF has 00 (American) 01 (British) so I can now switch sides if I want a real challenge to comeback and defeat the other side from the brink of defeat. Not something many will care about but yet another thing I can cross of my list.