News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Zelda - Link's Awakening DX - Intro & Dialog Skip  (Read 1938 times)

0utsider89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Zelda - Link's Awakening DX - Intro & Dialog Skip
« on: April 28, 2014, 09:00:17 pm »
Today I made some hacks to the game:  Zelda - Link's Awakening DX

I added the ability to skip any dialog in game by pressing B,  and also it automatically skips the intro and splash screen.

You can download it here.

I have submitted it.

Enjoy,
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 10:38:17 pm by 0utsider89 »

lytron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • pantalytron.com
Re: Zelda - Link's Awakening DX - Intro & Dialog Skip
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2014, 03:47:35 am »
Nice! It would be great if this would be implemented in LALE.  ;)

0utsider89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Zelda - Link\'s Awakening DX - Intro & Dialog Skip
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2014, 01:44:01 pm »
Here's what I changed:

Skip intro - before the mod:

Highlighted in gray you can see the JP z,6EC5, were going to change that too a JP NZ, 6EC5.

Skip intro - after the mod:

We only have to change one byte, the 0xCA to a 0xC2.

Highlighted in blue, there's a load from FFCC to A, there's a routine in the main loop of the game that check all the buttons and stores them in FFCB and FFCC.

Moving on too the skip dialog:

Skip dialog - before the mod:

Again highlighted in gray we can see a LD a, (DB95), If this loads a 0x07 then the skipping of dialog is enabled for the B button.

Skip dialog - after the mod:

All we have to do is change the LD a, (DB95) to a LD a, 07 and add a NOP. Too do this you change 3 bytes starting at address 26BF to: 3E 07 00

Enjoy,



May 02, 2014, 09:05:53 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
I got sick of hear the same song play over and over again.

To remove the music play back routine or at least where it sets up the hardware registers for the sound,  all we have to do is NOP out the call to RO1E:450f:


Just replace all three values starting at 6C028 to 0x00 / NOP.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 09:05:55 pm by 0utsider89 »