News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Removing character portraits in FFV (GBA)  (Read 10171 times)

ginja_ninja

• View Profile
Removing character portraits in FFV (GBA)
« on: March 19, 2014, 08:27:46 pm »
I'm completely new to rom hacking and figured this would be a relatively simple first project. I've always played the SNES version of FFV mainly because of how horrible all the character portraits in the GBA version look. I'd like to be able to just completely get rid of all of them, both in the dialogue boxes and the character menus.

I've viewed some tutorials and done some searches on graphics editing, but there appears to be a lot of conflicting information on what the best programs to use are. I've downloaded 4 or 5 different ones and loaded up the ROM in them, but none of the tiles appear to be discernable and are just a random jumble of pixels. I'm not sure if there's a specific program that works best for GBA games (I only bothered to download ones that explicitly mentioned GBA compatibility in the descriptions), but I'd welcome any recommendations from people who have experience with stuff like this.

I tried using VBA's built-in tile viewer functionality on a screen with a dialogue box open in the game's intro. Here's a screenshot I took: http://i.imgur.com/ql50BrA.png