News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Tales of Phantasia (Battle Screen)  (Read 2645 times)

justin3009

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Tales of Phantasia (Battle Screen)
« on: March 26, 2014, 12:19:05 pm »
I've been looking into modifying this for awhile but now I'm not even sure it's possible what I was hoping to do!

- The current battle screen is this.

What I'm hoping to do temporarily is remove the entirety of Layer 3's existance on the screen.  (Obviously it'd be there but I don't want any tiles to be there temporarily)

The problem being is I'm not sure how I can even expand Layer 1 or 2's reaches to go BEYOND what they are now.

Code: [Select]
$C3/AE0F A9 55       LDA #$55                A:0009 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc ;Loads layer 1 BG1 Screen Base and Screen Size
$C3/AE11 8D 07 21    STA $2107  [$00:2107]   A:0055 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc
$C3/AE14 A9 55       LDA #$55                A:0055 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc ;Loads Layer 2 BG2 Screen Base and Screen Size
$C3/AE16 8D 08 21    STA $2108  [$00:2108]   A:0055 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc
$C3/AE19 A9 5C       LDA #$5C                A:0055 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc ;Loads Layer 3 BG3 Screen Base and Screen Size
$C3/AE1B 8D 09 21    STA $2109  [$00:2109]   A:005C X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc
$C3/AE1E A9 03       LDA #$03                A:005C X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc
$C3/AE20 8D 01 21    STA $2101  [$00:2101]   A:0003 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc
$C3/AE23 A9 20       LDA #$20                A:0003 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc ;BG Character Data Area Designation (Layer 3)
$C3/AE25 8D 0B 21    STA $210B  [$00:210B]   A:0020 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc
$C3/AE28 A9 04       LDA #$04                A:0020 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc ;BG Character Data Area Designation (Layer 3)
$C3/AE2A 8D 0C 21    STA $210C  [$00:210C]   A:0004 X:FFFF Y:FFFF P:envMxdizc

Changing 55 to 57 on both displays '512x512' with a '64x64' base in VSNES with a tilemap base at A800.  Problem being is that Layer 3 is still B800 and I can't write beyond B7FE for Layer 1 or 2.

I'm hoping to see if I can I expand the layers down a bit so I can have more of a 'field' on the battle screen and then have layer 3 display in a MUCH smaller format.. but I'm not sure how to go about this currently :/

Also, it seems Layer 2 is HDMA affected which is why it's able to do that funky 'floor slant' as you move.  Layer 3 is also HDMA affected with the spacing between each piece.
'We have to find some way to incorporate the general civilians in the plot.'

'We'll kill off children in the Juuban district with an infection where they cough up blood and are found hanging themselves from cherry blossom trees.'

Gideon Zhi

  • Discord Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3536
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
Re: Tales of Phantasia (Battle Screen)
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 01:34:02 pm »
I must admit to being curious about what you're doing, but before I can say whether you're approaching this in the right direction, I need to know what you're attempting to accomplish as a final result, not just for an intermediate step. What do you want the battle screen to look like and how do you want it to behave, when all is said and done?

Nightcrawler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5795
    • View Profile
    • Nightcrawler's Translation Corporation
Re: Tales of Phantasia (Battle Screen)
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 06:56:56 pm »
Why not just disable BG3 via $212c? Or, if it's really just temporary, toggle the BG off in an emulator. :P

Well, you'd need to move BG3 further down in VRAM if you need to now use that B800 space for the enlarged 64x64 tilemaps on BG1+2. You'd need to set the new bases appropriately in the BG registers and then since you will break everything on BG3, make sure all the BG3 data now goes to the new locations. :)

TransCorp - Over 20 years of community dedication.
Dual Orb 2, Wozz, Emerald Dragon, Tenshi No Uta, Glory of Heracles IV SFC/SNES Translations

justin3009

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Re: Tales of Phantasia (Battle Screen)
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2014, 07:41:48 pm »
I actually attempted to do that and did do that once, but writing down into B800 when everything was changed didn't really have any effect.

I mean BG3 WILL be used still for HP/TP numbers, but just that entire HDMA/Box needs to be cut down significantly.
'We have to find some way to incorporate the general civilians in the plot.'

'We'll kill off children in the Juuban district with an infection where they cough up blood and are found hanging themselves from cherry blossom trees.'