News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Earthbound help  (Read 3212 times)

Azrah

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Earthbound help
« on: February 13, 2014, 06:57:57 am »
So I'm trying to use Earthbound-Sword of Kings and the New Controls hacks from this site, but after I name everything at the beginning of the game, it black screens trying to start the game. Using lunar ips on a non-headered rom.

wyndcrosser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2014, 12:13:26 am »
What Emulator? Try a different emulator. I usually use ZSNES.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7097
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2014, 12:36:57 am »
Are you sure the patches you are using are designed for an unheadered ROM.
Try each of them individually to make sure they work.

If they do work individually but not together then maybe they are incompatible (but it doesn't sound like they'd conflict).
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Azrah

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2014, 06:27:37 am »
Yeah it looks like new controls by itself isn't working after name everything it goes all wonky and displays screens like a real cartridge would back in the day. I checked to make sure my rom doesn't have a header and the new controls hack lists no header. Tested on both snes9x and zsnes.

FinS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
    • nothing much
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2014, 01:06:34 pm »
That is exactly what happens when you use the wrong patch/rom combination. Here is what you need to do.

Use a fresh unpatched copy of the rom. Place it in the same folder as your patches and rename to the same name as your patch not including the file extension. Leave it unpatched because the emulator will patch it automatically as long as the file names match. This way you can test it quickly with both patches.

Azrah

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2014, 04:37:59 pm »
Did everything you said it still isn't working. Must not work with this version of the rom, I'm guessing.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7097
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2014, 08:55:43 pm »
Did you try on both headered and unheadered ROMs?
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

FinS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
    • nothing much
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2014, 01:18:41 am »
What's the md5 checksum of the rom?

You can search online for an md5 checksum tool or just use HxD to check it. For HxD open the clean rom with it, then select "analysis" in the menu bar then "checksums" then "MD-5" then press OK.

Azrah

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Earthbound help
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2014, 12:09:40 am »
I figured it out, this program I was using said "N/A" under header so I assumed it had no header, but when I opened it up with HxD it had a bunch of 0's so I used something to remove that and its working. Thanks for your help.