News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.  (Read 6880 times)

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« on: December 26, 2013, 02:53:41 pm »
Back in 2009, Matrixz created a tool called Capcom Sprite Assembler, an editor for multiple games.
I want to edit some Megaman III sprites with this tool but I just can't open it. I downloaded both CSA bin and CSA src but when I try to open CSA, I get run- time error 339(Component "COMCT232.OCX" or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid).
 Can anybody help me get past this error and acces CSA?

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4715
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2013, 03:33:47 pm »
Are you running Windows 7 x64?  Problems with old OCX files are common with some of these utilities.

The easiest solution would be to use XP mode if you're running Pro or Ultimate.  Otherwise, you'll need to find the OCX file somewhere (they're pretty common), copy it to C:\Windows\SysWOW64 and then run regsvr32 on them from a command prompt with administrator privileges.  Make sense?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

henke37

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2013, 10:17:51 pm »
It could be one of them runtimes that you need to install. Some people neglect to distribute the matching runtimes with their applications.

This one seems to be for the visual basic 6.0 runtime, try installing that. And not using one of them dodgey sites that offer system files for direct download.

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2013, 05:02:37 am »

I'm running Windows XP. I know where regsvr32 can be found but it seems that I don't have SysWOW64 in my WINDOWS folder...

henke37

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2013, 10:37:24 am »
Again, just use the official runtime installer. Not some random file you found somewhere online.

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4715
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2013, 03:27:57 pm »
I'm running Windows XP. I know where regsvr32 can be found but it seems that I don't have SysWOW64 in my WINDOWS folder...
No, no, SYSWOW64 is strictly for 64-bit versions of Windows.  Mr. Henke is correct; all you need in this case is the relevant VB6 runtime files.
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2013, 09:23:49 am »
I got VB6FR and VB6STKIT in my computer but it still doesn't work...
« Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 09:33:39 am by Mr. Jolt »

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4715
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2013, 10:42:53 am »
just use the official runtime installer. Not some random file you found somewhere online.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/192461

But actually, the Common Controls are a separate download.  Maybe start with those first.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/download/details.aspx?id=10019
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2013, 08:12:57 am »
Installed both links, still doesn't work. What am I doing wrong?

Zynk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • WIP Roll-chan: The Wily Wars
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2013, 10:35:34 am »
Have you tried putting the COMCT232.OCX in C:\Windows\System32? When you do, restart your PC then see if it works? I had that problem long ago, IDK it that is the solution.  :-\

Oh, I'm on Win7 x32. IDK if it'll work for WinXP.

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2013, 12:38:58 pm »
Nope, I can't even find COMCT232.OCX at all  :(

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4715
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2013, 02:45:58 pm »
« Last Edit: December 29, 2013, 03:06:08 pm by Jorpho »
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2013, 05:59:00 am »
If those links were not needed, what did I downloaded then?

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4715
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2013, 09:03:42 am »
You mean the links in the previous post?  Those were different components of the VB6 runtime and common controls; just not the ones you needed.  But they were official Microsoft downloads, so there's nothing to worry about.

If you're referring to VB6FR and VB6STKIT , I have no idea why you downloaded those.
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Mr. Jolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Capcom Sprite Assembler problem.
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2013, 06:20:34 am »
No, I had FR and KIT before I found the CSA thing.