News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Writting a SNES game  (Read 6924 times)

tankendog

• View Profile
Writting a SNES game
« on: September 22, 2013, 07:18:09 pm »
Hello, my name is Tankendog, and for my Senior Research project for school, I have chosen to write a Super Nintendo game.

About the game: The user should be able to move left, right, jump and run.  Must reach the an end state.

While this  does not sound complex, I am new to the language and hardware, so every step feels like a hurdle.  I do have some previous ASM experience, but not on this scale.

I do not want to violate the terms of my assignment, so I will only be looking for broad scale information/help, not for someone to do the assignment for me :P

Currently I am having trouble with drawing multiple sprites on the screen.  I have been following the information on this site and http://wiki.superfamicom.org/snes/show/HomePage

I understand that there are multiple backgrounds, and multiple background layers, but I struggle to see how to load more then one sprite onto the screen at a time.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!

henke37

• View Profile
Re: Writting a SNES game
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 08:40:55 pm »
You don't want to use backgrounds for your characters. Use objects instead. You need to master the OAM.

tankendog

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2013, 08:47:07 pm »
Thank you for the help!