News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: GFF Gronds Final Fantasy  (Read 4326 times)

joe73ffdq

• View Profile
GFF Gronds Final Fantasy
« on: August 27, 2013, 01:05:15 am »
I have only worked on a little bit of rom hacking over the past few years, and never really had the patience, given the difficulty I was having. Lunar Magic, FF3usME, and a couple NES game specific editors. After having so much of a hard time, and not being able to figure them out, I pretty much gave up. I made some progress with FF3usME, but with the sheer amount of editable content in the game, I only made it to Returners Hideout before giving up. With the initial release of FF6AE this past winter I decided to give hacking another shot. In the process of waiting for the next release of that particular editor, I decided to give FF1 a try.

About 2 months ago I started learning how to use FFHackster, and I took the time and patience to learn how to use it. Then I decided that I wanted the INT patch, and tried to use the hex addresses from Astral Espers sticky on Gamefaqs, and to no avail, I couldnt get it to work. Then I had the determination to crack GFF and finally did. Now I have learned how to use a hex editor fairly well, and I have found most of the data for GFF.

I plan on releasing documents similar to FF Bytes (but more detailed), when I am done putting all the hex locations together. Some of it can be edited with Hackster, but most of it has to be manually edited with a hex editor. Even the parts that can be edited with Hackster are nearly impossible to read, because of how the text was expanded.

This has turned out to be a very worthwhile project. We all know that the original Final Fantasy is very broken. Grond, along with a few other hackers fixed all that. Finally, the original game is on par with all the other games in the series.