News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Hi, I'm new to rom hacking and I have a question  (Read 2923 times)

Anilk

• View Profile
Hi, I'm new to rom hacking and I have a question
« on: August 20, 2013, 05:11:38 am »
Hello

I tried searching for this, but I couldn't really find any good answers.  Sorry if there is a guide or a thread out there already.

I picked super mario 64 as a rom to start hacking because it was one of the few games that I actually owned that had tools out there for.  Anyways, I got most of what I needed to learn off this website and off of youtube, but I can't quite get the hang of hacking MIPS assembly. 

I've completely followed this awesome guide, but sadly, it isn't complete.

http://www.orbitaldecay.com/N64/

Through trial and error I've been able to do a lot of cool (and strange) stuff.  What I'm struggling with is finding the specific addresses I need.  Are there any better ways to find addresses other than using cheat engine? 

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Hi, I'm new to rom hacking and I have a question
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2013, 06:09:44 am »
Arguably you have jumped in at the proverbial deep end, if only because the tools are not half as developed as the NES, SNES, GBA and a lot of other things. That document is not bad but it has a very odd way of looking at things, not inaccurate but not really the way I would expect things to be taught (others reading it teaches cheat making through the lens of the underlying OS memory model, though I guess with such an emulator happy crowd working on it that is not such a bad thing).

"Finding addresses"
In what regards?