News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Need help with Super Robot Wars Alpha 3  (Read 6188 times)

Nakago

• View Profile
Need help with Super Robot Wars Alpha 3
« on: August 04, 2013, 03:23:20 am »
Hi,
This is my first attempt at hacking a ps2 game.
So far, I succeeded in changing the title screen, the options menu screen, and some stage names into english.
My problem editing the japanese text. I've tried hex editing, but that made the game not start.
The file I was trying to edit was SLPS_255.37, which contains quite a number of data such as the command menus,
Character guide menu, sound select menu, among other stuff. I've tried replacing the name コウ into Kou. The first
name to appear on the character guide menu. I even tried using the Shift JIS equivalent of the latin letters.
Still nothing, the game would just go to the browser screen.
I've tried opening the file with ps2dis, nothing appeared.
At this point, I'm not sure what to do.
Sadly, there is no documentation on ps2 hacking.
My intention, at least for now, is changing the menus into english.

Here are some screenshots of what I've done so far.
http://s19.photobucket.com/user/ZGMF-X13A/media/gsdx_20130804021648.png.html
http://s19.photobucket.com/user/ZGMF-X13A/media/gsdx_20130804022124.png.html
http://s19.photobucket.com/user/ZGMF-X13A/media/gsdx_20130804022311.png.html

I'm still working on the stage names.

Ryusui

• It's the greatest day.
    • View Profile
    • Tumblr
Re: Need help with Super Robot Wars Alpha 3
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2013, 03:32:42 am »
Might this be of any use?

http://watercrown.info/media/srwhires.png

I shopped it from Atlus's official "Super Robot Taisen" logo a few years back. :3
In the event of a firestorm, the salad bar will remain open.

Scio

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2013, 05:52:25 pm »
Hi there.