News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.  (Read 4277 times)

jacobdubya

  • Guest
Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« on: July 27, 2013, 02:18:19 am »
I'm trying to run a translation patch for Rockman & Forte on SNES9X on my Mac OS X, but it's not working and is giving me a "bad checksum" message. Can anyone help?

EDIT: I've also tried translation patches for several other games. None of them are working, though. So any help is appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2013, 02:25:26 am by jacobdubya »

mrrichard999

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • So Goooood! :D
    • View Profile
    • GameFAQS Profile
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2013, 02:31:12 am »
Possible it may need an expanded ROM.

Bonesy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Dog is God, God is Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2013, 02:33:25 am »
header issue?

mrrichard999

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • So Goooood! :D
    • View Profile
    • GameFAQS Profile
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2013, 02:34:24 am »
Yeah, more than likely its a header issue, pulled this from the readme for the Rockman & Forte Translation.

5.Application Instructions
--------------------------
If using ZSNES, make sure that the patch has the same name as your ROM.
In other words, if your ROM is called "rockman.swc" make sure the patch
is "rockman.ips" okay? If you're using a Mac, a Mac IPS patcher is
available. Check the AGTP Links page. If you're using a copier, you
probably already know how to patch the ROM :) Be sure to apply the
patch to a clean copy of the ROM, and make sure your ROM DOES HAVE
a header. If you right-click the ROM and select Properties, it
should read "4.00 MB 4,194,816 bytes)". SNESTool can add any headers
for you easily, and you can find it at
http://rpgd.emulationworld.com
In the utilities section, click on the IPS Tools link.
Please note that the questions it prompts you for apply to copier-users
only; if you are playing the game in an emulator, your answers do not
matter. All that matters is that the header is -there-. SNESTool will
tell you "Header add to file(s) done." and you'll be all set.

Bonesy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Dog is God, God is Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2013, 05:13:22 am »
Use TUSH instead.

Lenophis

  • Discord Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 971
  • The return of the sombrero!
    • View Profile
    • Slick Productions
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2013, 12:07:06 pm »
Not all translations will bother to fix the rom's internal checksum. It's possible that even with the "bad checksum" it patched just fine.


https://ff6randomizer.codeplex.com/ - Randomize your FF6 experience!

Bonesy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Dog is God, God is Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2013, 02:08:58 pm »
Not all translations will bother to fix the rom's internal checksum. It's possible that even with the "bad checksum" it patched just fine.

But he said they didn't work which leads me to believe headers. I guess? I'm not exactly an expert in the field.

Trax

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • Trax ROM Hacking
Re: Translations not working on SNES9X on Mac OS X.
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2013, 02:26:46 pm »
I had this problem repeatedly with SMW hacks, until I realized the problem was always a header problem. The infamous 0x200 bytes header that seem to serve no function at all. After learning that, I always keep headered and unheadered original SMW ROMs in reserve. Turns out most of them need to start from a headered ROM...

My guess is that the issue here is similar. Make a copy of your Megaman ROM, add 0x200 bytes (zeroes) to the beginning of the file, and try again...