News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Tile Layer Pro Palette Colors?  (Read 7282 times)

InsertCoin25

• View Profile
Tile Layer Pro Palette Colors?
« on: July 08, 2013, 11:11:04 pm »
I am new at using Tile Layer Pro and was wondering how you change the colors after you edit an image. Is there a way to import all the palette colors for a nes game? Every time I change the color and test out the rom it doesn't save the color I used to edit it with. Is there a secret to editing the images with colors. Just need a little help.

Thanks
InsertCoin25

wyndcrosser

• View Profile
Re: Tile Layer Pro Palette Colors?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 12:16:45 pm »
Hi,

It doesn't work that way, as far as I'm aware. The colors are set by the rom, you would need to hack the rom to change the colors. The tile layer pro software suite, just let's you modify the (4) colors associated to that tile. So let's say that it shows "blue, green, black and white" on your palette, and you change the second color to pink and try to add that color, it won't work, because that color is still green.

That's always been my idea on how it works.

InsertCoin25

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2013, 03:00:59 pm »
So basically I can only use the colors that are present on the game rom themselves for each individual character. I will see what I can do. Thanks for the help.

InsertCoin25

wyndcrosser

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2013, 03:32:16 pm »
Pretty much unless you hack the game (ASM knowledge etc.), which I don't have.

Psyklax

• View Profile
    • Psyklax Translations
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2013, 07:14:06 pm »