News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Unicode and Graphics Problems - Any Help Is Nice  (Read 2518 times)

RaiKirida452

• View Profile
Unicode and Graphics Problems - Any Help Is Nice
« on: July 09, 2013, 02:01:20 pm »
Greetings,

I am new to ROM hacking. My ultimate goal is to translate a particular PSX game. Yes, I have read all the beginner docs that warn not to start with a big project - and I have taken this to heart. I figured I'd use easier NES games that have been hacked a lot and various other model games to master each given technique before applying it to my target. However, I have run into a few serious problems in just attempting the basics.

The way I thought I'd do this is:
1) Extract the script - that is to say - get every piece of Japanese text that IS text in the game into one place, translate it, then finalize an adapted English script.
2) Record the actors (yes, this game has voice acting, and yes, I'm going to have an English version. Sound is my specialty as far as multimedia goes, and the voices are a must. That said, I am notoriously picky about the acting and I'll try to make sure it's up to my standards. Either way, I'd like to put in an "off" option if there isn't one already.)
3) Finalize all of the English text and reinsert it into the game - this counts editing the font (probably the trickiest part.)
4) Edit the graphics that have Japanese text
5) Reinsert the English audio files into the game - either in place of the Japanese voice files or in addition, in which case I'll have to add an extra option in the code. (Wait... that will be the hardest part.)
6) Burn it to a disc (personal copy) that plays on my own PS2.

And I'd also like to rip the music and sprites for good measure.

I may be forgetting something, but that was the most basic overall plan.