News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Please help with color palette referencing in Mega Man 2!  (Read 11543 times)

theataraxian

• View Profile
Please help with color palette referencing in Mega Man 2!
« on: June 22, 2013, 02:09:10 pm »
Greetings, programs!

While I am new to ROM hacking, I'm far enough in my project where I don't think it was a good fit for the newcomers board; instead I've got a pretty specific technical question I'd like to get some help with if anyone can.

I'm doing a straightforward hack of Mega Man 2, just reskinning Mega Man to look like my cousin Corey. So far, I've been using Tile Layer Pro, HxD hex editor, NES Palette Editor, FCEUX emulator debug tools, and on one occasion, Nesticle 0.42. I've successfully changed the Mega Man sprite's color palette throughout the entire game, as well as the color palettes for each of the weapons. The new Corey sprite has blue eyes, so I changed the face tiles so that the color previously assigned to white for Mega Man's eyes is now blue, and the Corey face sprite shows blue pupils with no surrounding white (basically, from Mega Man's black/white/skin palette to Corey's black/blue/skin palette).

Here is a mockup of the sprite, but it looks exactly like this in-game.

Also, I used the text table found on DataCrystal to edit the text in the opening sequence and in the game, but there were only tables for those two areas, and neither of them worked for the end credits. So with a little digging around, I found the table for the end credits and added it to the page a couple of nights ago. Hope it helps somebody else! http://datacrystal.romhacking.net/wiki/Mega_Man_II:TBL

Here are the issues that I'm having now: