News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 2.07)  (Read 221669 times)

Special

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
(and in the case that he does not find anything else in need of correction).

Lol, good one.

Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
Sadly, there's still more stuff to be found. Honestly, I'd like to work through this a little bit more efficiently through all of this since a Completionist run is about 64 hours. Would there be an easier way for me to go through and proofread? It feels like every time I boot up the game, I'm finding places that need a second look or an edit.

Post #1/Post #2/Post #3/Post #4/Post #5/Post #6/Post #7/Post #8

Just wanted to say that Celes, Locke, and Terra are sooooooo dramatic in this part of the story  ::)


Super minor, just wanted to point out an instance of 1000 in case you decided you wanted to change to 1,000


Unnecessary comma in the second sentence.
Another of the Empire's generals and a person I hired in town will be traveling with us as well.


Unnecessary comma after Celes. Sidenote: my girlfriend thinks that there's way too many pauses/periods of ellipsis leading up to this point in the story  :P I agree, but I think it's a carryover from the translation, right?


Minor thing, but I thought garrote was kind of an awkward verb when kill works fine, especially when Shadow doesn't even use them. If it's a Woolseyism, then just dismiss this  ::)


Should be spent instead of spend


Inconsistent usage of mayor and elder. I don't remember and I didn't have a savestate to double-check, but I think before the burning house event, the Mayor is referred to as Elder when you first arrive in Thamasa, but afterwards, he's referred to as Mayor.


I don't think begun is right here. Using started should be fine.

I could give you the file that has the full script, but unfortunately it is not completely linear. There are 3084 lines in the dialogue along, not including the in battle lines.

I'm not adding the comma to the 1000. It's not that necessary. The comma in between Celes and Shadow shouldn't have been there in the first place. However, the one after Empire's generals is a holdover from the original script and actually belongs there, believe it or not. I know many of the pauses may seem unneeded, and they ARE carry overs from the original script. They work a lot of times to give the dialog a more dramatic feeling to it.

I like the use of garrote here. It's a brutal Woolseyism that is much more effective of a term than just kill. Have you ever heard of the word before? Think Godfather and what they did to poor Luca Brasi in the bar. Shadow IS an assassin after all...

I can make sure the Mayor himself (officially Mayor of Thamasa in all releases) is properly addressed in dialogue but I cannot change the location of his house. It's hard coded as Elder's House, which is used in other towns as well for the label.

"Everyone felt we had begun that war..." That is correct.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 02:11:57 am by Rodimus Primal »

Dzumeister

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Zaubermancer
    • View Profile
Quote
The comma in between Celes and Shadow shouldn't have been there in the first place. However, the one after Empire's generals is a holdover from the original script and actually belongs there, believe it or not.

I'm pretty sure grammatically it doesn't need to be there, but ok

Quote
I like the use of garrote here. It's a brutal Woolseyism that is much more effective of a term than just kill. Have you ever heard of the word before? Think Godfather and what they did to poor Luca Brasi in the bar. Shadow IS an assassin after all...

I know what a garrote is, but I've never heard it used as a verb. After looking it up, I suppose you could use it as a verb, in the same way that you could use knife as a verb.

But don't worry... they didn't hire me to knife you.

It doesn't read well to me, but Woolsey4Ever I guess

Plus, it isn't more effective or brutal if not everyone is going to know what it means without having to look it up. Shadow's not exactly being threatening to the party, he's just cold.

Quote
"Everyone felt we had begun that war..." That is correct.

 :o

never heard it used in that way, and it doesn't sound that strong for the dramatic context it's in. How about:

Everyone blamed us as the cause for the war.
Everyone felt we were to blame for the war.
Everyone felt we were the catalyst for the war.
Everyone felt that we were responsible for the war.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2019, 03:21:34 am by Dzumeister »
free sluffy

BlazeHeatnix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
A note about numbers: I personally find it inconsistent and noticeable that some instances are words and some are integers. Sometimes you write "two" while others you write "2". Sometimes you write "a thousand" or "one thousand" and sometimes you write "1000":

Quote
"Hard to believe an esper's been found intact there, a thousand years after the War of the Magi..."
Quote
"1000 years ago, during the War of the Magi, 2 so-called Ultima Weapons existed."
Quote
"Hand's pointin' at the two."

Woolsey stuck to integers usually to save time and space. Slattery changed this to where the only time an integer is seen is when it's of gameplay significance to the player. Compare these lines:

Quote
"This one's four tons, too!?"
Quote
"It's gonna take me 5 minutes to push this thing off!"
Quote
"This storm is just like the one two years ago..."
Quote
"The clock's hand is pointing at the 2..."

Basically I think this would be a much better, and more consistent, way of handling numbers.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 05:51:49 am by BlazeHeatnix »

electricburgers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hello all! New here.

Thank you Rodimus Primal for your time and hard work on the patch!

I'm playing through FF6 for the first time with the 'all add ons and everything' patch. I saw that there's a new version of the patch on 05 July 2019. Is it possible to keep my save and save states and play with the new patch? Am I gonna be missing anything big if I'm still on v2.02?

Thank you.


Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
Hello all! New here.

Thank you Rodimus Primal for your time and hard work on the patch!

I'm playing through FF6 for the first time with the 'all add ons and everything' patch. I saw that there's a new version of the patch on 05 July 2019. Is it possible to keep my save and save states and play with the new patch? Am I gonna be missing anything big if I'm still on v2.02?

Thank you.

As far as I know, save files should work with the new versions as updated. Version 2.05 is now ready for download.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 04:28:47 pm by Rodimus Primal »

91-MPH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
I'll wait 'till there's a "ver. 2.06" available; when Dzumeister's done going through everything.

Dzumeister

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Zaubermancer
    • View Profile
I'll wait 'till there's a "ver. 2.06" available; when Dzumeister's done going through everything.

I urge everyone to play through the latest patches. It takes more than just one tester to really comb through and find all the bugs/typos/etc. I'm still playing on 2.03, so others should be looking through to find anything I may have missed, or any bugs, or anything else that may have been overlooked.
free sluffy

Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
I urge everyone to play through the latest patches. It takes more than just one tester to really comb through and find all the bugs/typos/etc. I'm still playing on 2.03, so others should be looking through to find anything I may have missed, or any bugs, or anything else that may have been overlooked.

It will certainly help getting the next update out faster. With all the corrections I've made, I hope to reach a final version soon enough!

91-MPH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Have u ever thought about giving Chrono Trigger the same treatment after u're done with your final version?

Special

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
It will certainly help getting the next update out faster. With all the corrections I've made, I hope to reach a final version soon enough!

Didn't you call v2.0 the final version? Might as well never use that term since it only would confuse people thinking this hack is finished, but there will always be updates as people report things.

Or be like Chronosplit and update your hack a million times while keeping the version name the same as "
Final" or "Complete" or whatever he does...

Isao Kronos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
Personally just waiting for updates to slow down so I can safely just play the game.

BlazeHeatnix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
I would honestly prefer all of these small updates to wait. I mean can you imagine what the changelog looks like?

2.04
"More script revisions"
2.05
"More script revisions"
2.06
"More script revisions"

Special

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
It's also super annoying/chore to constantly update if you do something like this. So yeah, not going to update either because some minor typos got fixed, especially when there are a ton more to come in short order.

Dzumeister

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Zaubermancer
    • View Profile
Personally just waiting for updates to slow down so I can safely just play the game.

I would honestly prefer all of these small updates to wait. I mean can you imagine what the changelog looks like?

2.04
"More script revisions"
2.05
"More script revisions"
2.06
"More script revisions"

It's also super annoying/chore to constantly update if you do something like this. So yeah, not going to update either because some minor typos got fixed, especially when there are a ton more to come in short order.

wow this is a lot of salt

it'd still help out a lot of someone could at least double-check to see if the fixes covered everything or if anything was missed by playing through the most recent patches.

and again, it takes multiple playthroughs and playtesters to perfect patches like these. a lot of work was put into this, but it IS a pretty big game, so stuff is bound to get overlooked. for a lot of players using this patch, this probably isn't their first time playing through FFVI, so most of the text probably isn't scrutinized thoroughly. that might be why we got to this revision still looking for issues, because minor issues aren't being reported.  :-\

July 18, 2019, 03:13:21 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
I can make sure the Mayor himself (officially Mayor of Thamasa in all releases) is properly addressed in dialogue but I cannot change the location of his house. It's hard coded as Elder's House, which is used in other towns as well for the label.

If you can't change the location name due to coding, maybe you should change Mayor to Elder for consistency and to avoid confusion?
« Last Edit: July 18, 2019, 03:13:21 am by Dzumeister »
free sluffy

aew4life

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
excellent patch.  I suggest placing a space between the number and GIL at the end of combat

Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
wow this is a lot of salt

it'd still help out a lot of someone could at least double-check to see if the fixes covered everything or if anything was missed by playing through the most recent patches.

and again, it takes multiple playthroughs and playtesters to perfect patches like these. a lot of work was put into this, but it IS a pretty big game, so stuff is bound to get overlooked. for a lot of players using this patch, this probably isn't their first time playing through FFVI, so most of the text probably isn't scrutinized thoroughly. that might be why we got to this revision still looking for issues, because minor issues aren't being reported.  :-\

July 18, 2019, 03:13:21 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
If you can't change the location name due to coding, maybe you should change Mayor to Elder for consistency and to avoid confusion?

Well I for one am appreciative that you've been so helpful. This recent round of updates has been filled with a lot of salt from everyone and it has made any work on the project that much more of a chore. God forbid I want to make sure that any errors are corrected or that I want to keep a Woolseyism that everyone remembers. And yes, I DID want 2.0 to be the final version when I released it. However, Clyde Mandelin's play through sparked the desire to bring the script in TWUE even closer to a better translation while remaining true to the original project's goals.

There won't be another update then until you've completed your play through. Once I am done though, I am not only done with TWUE, but I don't want to work on another ROM hack for any other game.


excellent patch.  I suggest placing a space between the number and GIL at the end of combat

Thanks. That has been fixed in recent updates.

91-MPH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
There won't be another update then until you've completed your play through. Once I am done though, I am not only done with TWUE, but I don't want to work on another ROM hack for any other game.

Unless someone points out a glitch that's overlooked. X333

Dzumeister

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Zaubermancer
    • View Profile
Well I for one am appreciative that you've been so helpful. This recent round of updates has been filled with a lot of salt from everyone and it has made any work on the project that much more of a chore. God forbid I want to make sure that any errors are corrected or that I want to keep a Woolseyism that everyone remembers. And yes, I DID want 2.0 to be the final version when I released it. However, Clyde Mandelin's play through sparked the desire to bring the script in TWUE even closer to a better translation while remaining true to the original project's goals.

There won't be another update then until you've completed your play through. Once I am done though, I am not only done with TWUE, but I don't want to work on another ROM hack for any other game.


Thanks. That has been fixed in recent updates.

Would you be open to letting me or other players playtest the final revision to check for errors before you retire?
free sluffy

Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
Would you be open to letting me or other players playtest the final revision to check for errors before you retire?

I think you're the only one right now willing but that would be fine.