News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.02)  (Read 375338 times)

Rodimus Primal

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • View Profile
Re: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.01)
« Reply #1120 on: February 23, 2021, 02:50:48 pm »
Hey! Amazing hack and am loving that this is how I’ll be first experiencing FF6. I did however run into one minor bug in v3.01. When you recruit Locke to the party, at the prompt when you’d get to name him instead the name area is blank, you can’t add any text or move the cursor at all, and the character portrait is Terra’s. Luckily pressing Start just sets his name as Locke, so it doesn’t really hang up progress at all.

That's strange. Just checked myself and didn't have that happen. Did you use an unheadered 1.0 ROM? And which patch?

seajay1221

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.01)
« Reply #1121 on: February 23, 2021, 05:19:13 pm »
That's strange. Just checked myself and didn't have that happen. Did you use an unheadered 1.0 ROM? And which patch?

Yes, unheadered. I checked the md5sum first to make sure it was the right rom. I used Final Fantasy VI (TWUE) + Bug Fixes, Updated Opera, & Add-Ons.ips.

Rodimus Primal

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • View Profile
Re: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.01)
« Reply #1122 on: February 24, 2021, 12:27:26 pm »
Yes, unheadered. I checked the md5sum first to make sure it was the right rom. I used Final Fantasy VI (TWUE) + Bug Fixes, Updated Opera, & Add-Ons.ips.

Could it be the emulator? I just checked the patches again on clean ROMs and I have not been able to duplicate the issue. I use SNES9x 1.60. 

seajay1221

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.01)
« Reply #1123 on: February 24, 2021, 12:36:43 pm »
Ah you're right! It was the emulator. Thanks for checking!

Chronosplit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.01)
« Reply #1124 on: February 28, 2021, 11:30:05 am »
http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/5772/

Back when we were talking controller config menu restoration, I mentioned that the dash would have to be binded to cancel as opposed to just B.  This new Dash patch (from FFVI: ROSE I think) does just that, might be worth upgrading to if you can!  Also, it makes the Sprint Shoes still useful with the dash.

Rodimus Primal

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • View Profile
Re: Final Fantasy VI SNES Woolsey Uncensored Edition (Updated - Version 3.01)
« Reply #1125 on: February 28, 2021, 01:30:05 pm »
http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/5772/

Back when we were talking controller config menu restoration, I mentioned that the dash would have to be binded to cancel as opposed to just B.  This new Dash patch (from FFVI: ROSE I think) does just that, might be worth upgrading to if you can!  Also, it makes the Sprint Shoes still useful with the dash.

I asked Silent Enigma about changing the binding and he gave me the simple code that DOES work to change the B Button to the Cancel Button. I did some testing on it, and what I discovered about the the Button Restoration is that it occupies the same space as the Music Player with Config 2. So IF the patch is used, the Music Player would either have to be the Main Menu OR Config 1 (occupies the space for MONO audio). I still need to test to make sure there is no compatibility issue if those configurations are used, but changing the B Button to Cancel I can  most certainly do.

Noside

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
I'm screwing up with the patches over and over again, it's so confusing for me, can someone share the rom patched already please? :)

lexluthermiester

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 921
    • View Profile
I'm screwing up with the patches over and over again, it's so confusing for me, can someone share the rom patched already please? :)
Sorry, ROM sharing is strictly against the rules on RHDN, as is asking about same. Please review RHDN Forum policy at the page shown below. No more ROM requests.

https://www.romhacking.net/forum/index.php?topic=370.0

It might also benefit you to read through the main RHDN site policy page as well.

https://www.romhacking.net/policy/
« Last Edit: March 09, 2021, 05:47:25 pm by lexluthermiester »

Rodimus Primal

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • View Profile
I'm screwing up with the patches over and over again, it's so confusing for me, can someone share the rom patched already please? :)

While you cannot request ROMs, you need to search for a specific ROM to patch. The game was released in North America as Final Fantasy III, and the patch is based on version 1.0. So search for a Final Fantasy III (U) (1.0) ROM.

There was a time that the program used to dump SNES games digitally would add what was called a copier header. This added an extra amount of data to the ROM for compatibility with older software. Some ROM hacks were made from "Headered" ROMs. That has become a thing of the past now, and Woolsey Uncensored is based on an "Unheadered" ROM. There is a utility here on RHDN that can ADD or REMOVE a header called Tush. Use that to find out if the ROM you find has a header, and then it can remove the header with a click of a button.

The TWUE patches themselves are COMPLETE patches. Six choices for you to pick from and they are in IPS format. The READ ME file details what is in those patches. For the best choice, I recommend the one with Bug Fixes, Updated Opera, and Add Ons. Many have used Lunar IPS but the replacement for that is Floating IPS.

From there, you have the option to ADD the Music Player. Again, a READ ME file is there to detail which version you want to add. Some choose Main Menu, some choose one of the Config options, some choose not to add it at all. The choice is yours. Again, its in IPS format. But you must add the Music Player AFTER you have patched one of the TWUE patches.

As for what emulator you choose to use, that's up to you. I recommend that NO ONE use ZSNES any longer for multiple reasons. Some choose a Retroarch core, some Higan/BSNES, but I use the stand alone SNES9x emulator for all my SNES games.

Hope that helps.

lexluthermiester

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 921
    • View Profile
I recommend that NO ONE use ZSNES any longer for multiple reasons.
I'm interested to know why. I use ZSNES by default and only switch over SNES9X when certain games music goes wonky. The newest version otherwise works perfectly.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2021, 08:38:16 am by lexluthermiester »

Noside

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
I'm sorry, what I meant is not by posting a link here and I know the rules already, sorry I didn't specify quite well, someone just solved my problem, thanks anyways. :)

Eldrethor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
I'm interested to know why. I use ZSNES by default and only switch over SNES9X when certain games music goes wonky. The newest version otherwise work perfectly.

My understanding is that most importantly, the app has some critical security issues. Aside from that, ZSNES was written with a lot of hackery under the hood, which allowed it to run on the kind of hardware that was available in its heyday (minimum requirements were a Pentium II 233 MHz CPU with 32 MB RAM). Today, it's now outclassed by SNES9X in terms of emulation accuracy and support, so it's a very weak recreation of an actual SNES by comparison. That and there are a considerable number of rom hacks that just don't work on ZSNES, though conversely, there are rom hacks that were written with ZSNES in mind that don't work with more modern emulators.

Thorbs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
I'm interested to know why. I use ZSNES by default and only switch over SNES9X when certain games music goes wonky. The newest version otherwise work perfectly.


https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3SOYneC7mU

https://emulation.gametechwiki.com/index.php/ZSNES

Because ZSNES has the potential to run malicious code on your PC, has compatibility and accuracy issues and hasn't been updated for 14 years.

Queue

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
Quote from: Thorbs
Because ZSNES has the potential to run malicious code on your PC, has compatibility and accuracy issues and hasn't been updated for 14 years.
Probably every single game console emulator that exists "has the potential to run malicious code on your PC"; they have a comically massive attack surface and none that I'm aware of puts any emphasis on exploit-resistant design. There's simply a public proof-of-concept attack for ZSNES, whoop-de-do. I used said code execution vulnerability to add MSU-1 support to ZSNES for a hack of mine (and then fix that specific security hole, at least until you restart the program since it doesn't make any permanent changes), so I don't even consider it a downside. Remind me where all the malware infected ZSNES-attacking SNES ROMs are.

Its compatibility issues are generally inconsequential and accuracy, for playing games, is of overblown importance. I don't care if you can't stand the ZSNES sound emulation mistake that makes Mario World jumps sound bad. ZSNES not emulating direct color in BG mode 5 matters for what, 1 game?, and doesn't make it unplayable. Can you elaborate on any other human-noticeable accuracy failings in ZSNES? Because accuracy is often trotted out as one of its weak points as if that complaint has intrinsic merit.

That it hasn't changed in over a decade is one of its biggest upsides: if you like it, you don't have to worry about the developer making it worse. Or slower (looking at you modern Snes9X).

It also uses very little computing power; on one of my older computers, when emulating, it uses less than 10% CPU time (it's a 3.3 GHz, 3 core Athlon 2, if I remember correctly). I can literally always leave it running alongside whatever else I'm doing with it having 0 discernible impact on whatever else I'm running (heck, I can leave it running in the background as a music player); I love Mesen-S, but if I don't pause it when doing something else computer intensive, it makes whatever I'm doing meaningfully slower.

And finally, I really need to play TWUE again. It's been through quite a few updates since I last did. Mato's T-Edition reveal has me champing at the bit for some FF6.

Thorbs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Eh, potentially every file on the internet could be virus-infected.
Wouldn't surprise me seeing people downloading ROM's from questionable Russian ROM sharing sites.
The point is that ZSNES allows the ROM to do whatever after launching, whereas other SNES emulators do not.


As for accuracy and compatibility being of overblown importance, I think it's safe to say that other SNES emulators that still receive updates, unlike ZSNES, do it better.
Kirby's Fun Pak/Kirby Super Star doesn't crash with most other halfway decent emulators.
Furthermore, just because you don't care about sound bugs doesn't change that ZSNES is a buggy mess regardless and that there are indeed better alternatives to it; atleast for the average Joe that just wants to play some games.

Can't comment much on how SNES9X changed for the worse over the years. But since it doesn't make sense for updates to worsen the experience, I'm pretty sure that part is just made up by you.
Examples would have been appreciated.

Picking up from there, SNES9X is also laid out to consume little computing power while working objectively better than ZSNES; there is no notable advantage in using ZSNES over SNES9X in this case.
Unless ZSNES has more debugging support or something; I am not too familiar with that on that front.
All that aside, the specs of your computer also matter, not just how the emulator itself operates, just saying.


Rodimus Primal

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • View Profile
I'm interested to know why. I use ZSNES by default and only switch over SNES9X when certain games music goes wonky. The newest version otherwise work perfectly.

For the longest time I kept using ZSNES since everyone clamored on about how it was still "The BEST" but I could not stand the sound effects and music on my favorite games. The last official release of ZSNES was in 2007 and other emulators for the SNES have far surpassed it. Sound and music is a BIG factor for me. Not to mention that I shouldn't have to switch out layers in a game to be able to complete it, and there are a few I have to do that with. It also doesn't seem to run well in my experience on Windows 10, even in compatibility mode. 

I made the switch to BSNES at one point, but I HATED the file structure, but kept using it for the sake of sound. I switched over to SNES9X a couple of years ago, and I haven't regretted it. It works out of the box, and I can configure it the way I need to without any trouble.

I know some may PREFER the GUI, which is what ZMZ was made for. I however do not use Retroarch on my PC. I do with my Wii and SNES Classic though. However, while I can not recommend continuing use for ZSNES, to each their own.

Back on topic for Ted Woolsey Uncensored Edition. I am planning on changing the B-Button Dash a Cancel Button Dash on the next update. This will make compatibility with the Button Configuration patch work a LOT smoother if one desires to add it back in. However, I won't be adding it to Woolsey Uncensored because of the Music Player options compatibility. Silent Enigma also made an update to Description Disruption so that it works with Woolsey Uncensored. It is a bug fix, and I may add it after testing it out.


DaddyLongLegs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I actually registered just to say how much I love this rom hack and thank you so much for making it.

The only thing I can think of to improve a perfect game like FF6 would be to hack in the GBA extras. And maybe the new game+ feature from the Android/ios/pc port.

Any idea if these are feasible? Any plans on doing them?

Thanks again so much, Rodimus!

Viewer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
It's not a matter of "hacking in" anything, since they're two separate systems - you'd need to create it from scratch (map editing, AI editing, image creation/editing, to start) - you'd need a dedicated team working on such a project, I imagine.

So, not from this person. Sorry.

Rodimus Primal

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • View Profile
I actually registered just to say how much I love this rom hack and thank you so much for making it.

The only thing I can think of to improve a perfect game like FF6 would be to hack in the GBA extras. And maybe the new game+ feature from the Android/ios/pc port.

Any idea if these are feasible? Any plans on doing them?

Thanks again so much, Rodimus!


It's not a matter of "hacking in" anything, since they're two separate systems - you'd need to create it from scratch (map editing, AI editing, image creation/editing, to start) - you'd need a dedicated team working on such a project, I imagine.

So, not from this person. Sorry.

I would absolutely LOVE to see that added to the SNES version of the game by anyone. It's not something that is in scope with this project, but if it was done I would hope it would be compatible with TWUE. The BIGGEST thing I'd like to see done, more than any added esper, boss or dungeon, is a built in Bestiary to make it easier for people to hunt down Rages.

Also, I am thinking of making a separate patch for old school fans that reverts most of the item, monster, and spell names back to their SNES counterparts (Tincture, Pteranodon, Fire 2, etc) with exceptions being for terribly erroneous ones like Phoenix Down. If I do, it will probably be a separate patch release, as its time consuming to revert them all (something I don't have much luxury with currently).

After Silent Enigma updated Description Disruption, I have now added it to the Bug Fix patches. My testing didn't have any issues with the Music Player as the previous versions did, but if it does give anyone problems it can be removed.

I also changed the B Button Dash to Cancel, which makes it compatible with the Button Settings Restoration patch. However, the Config 2 patch for the Music Player doesn't work with that patch, so I decided against adding it. I've made mention of it in the documents so anyone who chooses to add it themselves can.

I've also fixed a crucial moment in one of Shadow's Dreams, which Woolsey erroneously had Baram calling Clyde a coward, when it was actually the other way around.

That said, Version 3.02 is now ready for download! 
« Last Edit: April 11, 2021, 01:07:07 am by Rodimus Primal »