News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: PSP Memory organization  (Read 9773 times)

tryphon

• View Profile
PSP Memory organization
« on: April 21, 2013, 06:35:27 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to PSP hacking, but I did some on PS2 and I was told it is quite similar.

Nonetheless, something bugs me.

I use JPCSP emulator and if I go to debug/Memory viewer, I can see the main executable (that is, the BOOT.BIN file) starting at $8804000.

But if I save the RAM dump to disk and open it with an hex editor, I can't find any tracks of the main executable.

Worse, the dump file (32 Mb large, which seems correct) contains data I can't locate in the JPCSP/debug/Memory viewer (but since there's no search function in the viewer, and it seems impossible to save the whole dump to file, it's really difficult to find anything).

Can someone tell me where in the Memory is the main executable loaded, and more generally how is the PSP memory organized ? Or at least, provide documents on the subject ?

Thanks in advance :)

LostTemplar

• View Profile
    • au-ro-ra.net
Re: PSP Memory organization
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 02:59:46 am »
Unfortunately (or fortunately?) this has nothing to do with how the PSP's memory is organized, it's a bug in the memory dumping code of the emulator. Every non-ASCII character (or so) gets replaced by '?' (0x3f). It's aggravating as hell, but it should be easy to fix as JPCPS' Java code is pretty readable and well-structured - for example, I once augmented the debugger with a rudimentary rendering list viewer.

Otherwise it's just as you would expect - a linear 32MB memory region reaching from 0x8000000 to 0xa000000.

tryphon

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2013, 09:28:43 am »
Thanks for the info, I could have searched for a long time :)

Thanks to you, I found the data I was looking for.

But many things bug me.