News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Thief and the Cobbler/Super Mario Bros 2.  (Read 8628 times)

tygerbug

• View Profile
Thief and the Cobbler/Super Mario Bros 2.
« on: April 17, 2013, 01:30:57 pm »

Hi, my name is Garrett Gilchrist. I'm an artist, writer and filmmaker. In 2006 I began a project to restore, reedit, archive, collect and share the work of legendary, three-time Academy Award-winning animator Richard Williams (Who Framed Roger Rabbit).

Most notably I edited together The Thief and the Cobbler: Recobbled Cut, a restoration of Richard's unfinished animated masterpiece, a feature film on which he spent over 23 years. Major production finally got underway in 1989 but was shut down in 1991, and the film was never completed as intended. It was handed to a director who "finished" it as quickly and cheaply as possible, ruining it entirely.

Currently I am working on a new restoration, the Recobbled Cut Mark 4, which has taken well over a year of work now. I Livestream my painstaking, frame-by-frame restoration work on fridays, and you can see a rough cut of the Mark 4 Recobbled Cut at the Youtube channel:

http://youtube.com/thethiefarchive

My own artwork can be seen here:
http://tygerbug.deviantart.com/gallery
http://orangecow.org

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to hack Super Mario Bros. 2 for the NES so that it features The Thief and the Cobbler characters.

I have never done a ROM hack before, but did a little work last night designing the characters and putting one frame of them into the game. I haven't fixed the palettes yet, so the screenshots above are slightly Photoshopped.