News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Question about banks and romexpansion  (Read 2651 times)

Pikachumanson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Question about banks and romexpansion
« on: March 18, 2013, 01:19:07 am »
When you expand a rom the fixed bank goes from
 07 to 0F. That much I got. Do i go and change all the bank swaps
from C007 to C00F?
Sorry if the question seems straightforward but the thing is the game works just fine without doing that. However Bank 7 is supposed to be where my expanded info starts.
What do you guys do in that situation?

Pennywise

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2329
  • I'm curious
    • View Profile
    • Yojimbo's Translations
Re: Question about banks and romexpansion
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 01:43:02 am »
Fixed banks stay fixed and when you expand the ROM they automatically become the last bank. There is no code that swaps for the fixed bank.

Pikachumanson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Re: Question about banks and romexpansion
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 02:05:19 am »
I see, so I should forget about bank 0f because it's really bank 07 and concentrate on bank 08?

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7003
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Question about banks and romexpansion
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 09:35:42 am »
Bank F will still be bank F.
It's just that the last bank is never swapped in because it doesn't need to be.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Dr. Floppy

  • Restricted Access
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 970
  • Make America GREAT Again!
    • View Profile
    • BaddestHacks.net
Re: Question about banks and romexpansion
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2013, 01:11:29 am »
You should transplant all of the data from the original Bank 7 into the new Bank F, as that's the game's new fixed bank. (You're then free to blank-out the original Bank 7 for later use.)

Pikachumanson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Re: Question about banks and romexpansion
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2013, 01:18:11 am »
It's already empty. I transplanted all the menu data there. So now I'm tracking down all the pointers and bankswaps and change them accordingly and hope they work