News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: What happens if you don't recompress data?  (Read 5941 times)

Pikachumanson

• View Profile
What happens if you don't recompress data?
« on: February 12, 2013, 05:47:52 am »
Just a hypothetical situation I was thinking about. Let's suppose I manage to crack a game's lszz(or whatever) text code and i translate the all the lines there but i don't bother to recompress which I imagine would be doing the reverse of what i did to crack the code. Would I still be able to play the rom?

Note: i would not ever do it like that, but I am just wondering what would happen because i am studying up on that format so I can take another crack at Necromancer(TG16) after I am finished translating Outlanders(NES)

LostTemplar

• View Profile
    • au-ro-ra.net
Re: What happens if you don't recompress data?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 06:35:14 am »
Depends. Either the game already supports uncompressed data, or you'll have to write a new routine that circumvents the decompression routine. Otherwise it probably won't work.

It's fairly standard with newer games (maybe SNES and later) to just reinsert data uncompressed because it's too much hassle to recompress it - writing a compressor is usually a lot harder than writing the decompressor - and the space is there anyway. Not only that, but it's usually a lot faster in-game because decompression takes a lot of time, whereas copying obviously  is pretty fast. For example, I've seen games that take a few seconds to decompress their tilesets each time you change the area, which is fairly noticeable on virtually-no-load-times consoles like the SNES.

Pikachumanson

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 07:26:12 am »
So if a game has it's items and menus uncompressed but the intro and towntalk is compressed would you say it may support uncompression? Especially on a TG16 game made in 1987-88?

FAST6191