News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Trying to submit a hack  (Read 2806 times)

mojoe128

• View Profile
Trying to submit a hack
« on: January 28, 2013, 11:48:04 am »
I tried to submit a hack to the site but had some issues with my ips file.  They said my patch had most of the entire original rom in it.  I am not really experienced making ips patchs.  I made a new one with lunar ips and it is smaller.....but i cant tell if it is going to fall into the same most of old rom category.  If any one had any tips for making correct ips files i would love some help.  Also they said i didn't have header status for my rom.  Not sure what that is

I'm real excited to release this hack so any help would be appreciated

Thanks
mojoe128

January 28, 2013, 01:23:16 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
I resubmitted with the new smaller .ips and other info they were asking for.  Hopefully it works this time.  Keep an eye out for an awesome Super Bomberman 2 hack!  Cross my fingers
« Last Edit: January 28, 2013, 01:23:16 pm by mojoe128 »

Mauron

• Submission Reviewer
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to submit a hack
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2013, 02:20:27 pm »
SNES ROMs sometimes contain an unnecessary header at the beginning of the file. Creating a patch from a hacked ROM with no header and an original ROM with a header will result in a patch that contains almost the entire hacked ROM.

The second part is about telling the person playing the hack how to properly patch their ROM. If the patch was created with an unheadered ROM, it needs to be applied to an unheadered ROM. While this can be solved with a little trial and error, it's easier to avoid if the type is listed.
Mauron wuz here.

mojoe128

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 02:33:01 pm »