News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: [PSX] Brave Fencer Musashi - Messy texts  (Read 16556 times)

Dark Fulgore

• View Profile
    • Tool-assisted Flawless Playthroughs
[PSX] Brave Fencer Musashi - Messy texts
« on: January 21, 2013, 09:23:04 am »
Hello guys! I'm totally new to console games translating and new here.
I already translated some PC games and never tried console games before. Tried to translate Brave Fencer Musashi to Brazilian Portuguese to my girlfriend, so she can play it, she is playing Chrono Trigger, then will play A Link to the Past and then Alundra, so I have free time and she will take long to finish those games.
I want to work hard on this game, but I'm getting nowhere at the moment. So, I have some problems.

I got some PSX games, opened the files in a Hex editor, found the texts and translated them, piece of cake, but with Musashi isn't that easy.
In Musashi, the texts are all messy, because the game has some voices during some dialogues, the text box changes during the dialogue too and some words are in red instead of black. The texts are between those codes and I can't translate the texts with this mess around. I just want to translate the texts, I will not use special characters at all.

Anyone know something about Musashi? There's a tool to extract those lines without the voice and dialogue codes?
I tried to find some utilities for PSX games and found nothing to help me, tried to read some tutorials, but they aren't exactly what I need because I have no knowledge to use those tutorials right.

Hope someone can help me. Thanks guys!

Pikachumanson

• View Profile
Re: [PSX] Brave Fencer Musashi - Messy texts
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2013, 12:32:59 pm »
Psx doesn't have too many tutorials. It's programming language mips has some nice documents.