News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Hacking and documenting Final Fantasy IX  (Read 7003 times)

lowena

• View Profile
Hacking and documenting Final Fantasy IX
« on: January 13, 2013, 08:30:00 pm »
I wanted to make a thread and see if anyone is interested in hacking and subsequently documenting Final Fantasy IX. It seems Brazilian and Russian groups have already done so, but they are long dead and made no tools to work with the game. The program Noesis allows one to view models and texture files, but I am more interested in text, specifically translating the game.

I am only a novice in ROM hacking, but am working hard to get good so I can get started on FF9. Currently I am learning SNES assembly so I can learn how assembly works, which will then help me learn the PSX assembly (which has less documantation), which should then help me with finding the font file(s) and text pointers.

So that's my plan for now. :)
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 03:04:11 am by lowena »

Pikachumanson

• View Profile
Re: Hacking and documenting Final Fantasy IX
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 09:38:07 pm »
If I were you,I'd send messages to people that have done ps1 hacks and see how they can help you. Sadly you are right. There are way too few ps1 docs out there.

lowena

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 03:05:01 am »
I'm not sure if I could do that, I'd hate to bother them, and they'd probably just call me a noob...

Pikachumanson

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2013, 04:08:59 am »
Don't know til you try. Newbs are the future of romhacking.

lowena

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2013, 04:13:30 am »
Yeah, I guess so. I'll ask the creators of the FF9 save editor and Noesis if they can give me any pointers. :)

January 14, 2013, 05:49:42 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)