News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Besides brute force, is there any way/technique to dissect a ROM?  (Read 2778 times)

Nightshade_part1

• View Profile
Good evening, People of ROMhacking.

Despite being a programmer, I have never ventured into the world of NES games, so my knowledge on the subject is kind of limited.

Lurking online I found a lot of helpful tutorials about the inner-working of the NES, and what makes it tick. For the most part they have been helpful, and I plan to keep on reading them to educate myself better on the subject.

However, I have not found any suggestion on ways to understand how a Game works, to dissect a ROM apart. Of course, there is always the good old fashion way [ Open hexeditor, go frame by frame, try different things, see changes, make annotations, repeat], but I was wondering if there were more reliable tools and/or strategies to work this out.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Yours Faithfully, Nightshade.

Malias

• View Profile
Re: Besides brute force, is there any way/technique to dissect a ROM?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2016, 02:12:36 am »
If you haven't already, I'd recommend looking at our Getting Started page.  Beyond that, I'd recommend a good debugging emulator.  For NES, FCEUX is a good choice.  Don't forget to peruse the site's Documents and Utilities sections.
The great achievement is to lose one's reason for no reason, and to let my lady know that if I can do this without cause, what should I do if there were cause?
     ~Don Quixote~

FAST6191

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2016, 02:44:39 am »