News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: PSP hacking basics  (Read 12444 times)

KaOSoFt

• View Profile
PSP hacking basics
« on: November 20, 2012, 04:18:17 pm »
Hello there.

I recently got news that one of my favorite games not only had a DS remake, but it also just recently had a PSP remake (improved upon the DS version). I’m talking about Super Robot Wars Original Generation Saga Masoukishin I – The Lord of Elemental. The original SNES version was my first SRW game. I played it through even without knowing Japanese (I still don’t). I just love it. No other SRW did that for me. I just finished GBA OGs, though, but that was because they were in English. Oh, well...

First and foremost, I’m a total beginner at this. I may have some basic notions about ROM hacking from tutorials online (including those here) and from people some years back, but I have never actually worked on it.

Now, back on topic, while most graphics were easy to find for the DS version, between 02567800 and 025FBD48 in the d_sys.bin file, according to Crystal Tile 2 NDS filesystem browser, for the PSP version it’s been impossible to find anything at all in its USRDIR\SYS.BIN, or in any of the other files, for that matter. Oh, yeah, aside from the “d_”, both ports seem to have the same file structure and names.

For the DS version, in Tile Molester you can just choose (1-dimensional, by the way) the 4bpp linear, reverse-order Codec, play a little bit with Increase/Decrease Width and Byte Back/Forward options to your desire, and in Crystal Tile 2 just GBA 4bpp and its Ctrl/Alt + Left/Right shortcuts to do the same.