News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Lowering the encounter rate in Breath of Fire II (total newbie here)  (Read 8962 times)

frogles

• View Profile
Hey guys. I recently discovered the Breath of Fire II retranslation (which looks amazing) but I just can't play the game due how frequent the encounters are. It drives me nuts getting into battles every 4 steps and I'm just not enjoying myself. I've always thought that the encounter rate was the downfall of the SNES version. I wanna lower it and maybe raise the exp/gold the game gives out after battle. I think the GBA version did this to offset the much lower encounter rate and it turned out great.

My problem is I'm a total noob at this stuff and the most I've done is change some values in Pokemon Red to get certain Pokemon to evolve in a different way. I've read some guides on here but I still have no idea how to go about doing this.

Is something like this too advanced for me?

justin3009

• Welp
    • View Profile
Re: Lowering the encounter rate in Breath of Fire II (total newbie here)
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 09:29:00 pm »
It's pretty complicated depending on how the games does random battle #'s.

If this code is right, then this prevents random battles in general. 7E12DC00

If so, you need Geiger's SNES9X Debugger.

1. Load up Breath of Fire II.
2. Get into a battle.
3. Click 'Breakpoints'
4. Type in "7E12DC" in any of the lines.
5. Check 'Write'
6. Win the battle.
7. The game should stop and say that a value has been written there.  If this code is the right one, that's the # for random battles.
8. Click 'Run'.
9. Click Run as many times as needed until it stops freezing the game.
10. Take the offset that it shows ($xx/xxxx) and subtract 20 from the last two digits.  So if it's say, $1F/2050.  It'd be $1F/2030.
11. Set the 2nd listing # to FFFFFF so you can see everything.