News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Help me dump the text from a SNES game.  (Read 7789 times)

reyvgm

• View Profile
Help me dump the text from a SNES game.
« on: January 12, 2012, 05:21:30 pm »
I was wondering if someone here could help me dump the text from the Super NES game called S.O.S. (Septentrion in Japan) by Vik Tokai. The game is already in English, but I would like to have the text dump for another project.

I tried using hex editors to search for the text (Monkey Moore, Font Searcher), but it seems the text is compressed. I mean, I'm not an expert either, the most advanced stuff I've done is make table files. And even those were for games were the text was easily found. I do not know ASM either, so going that route is beyond my reach.

Are there any other programs that can let me dump (or at least find) this game's text?  I can also follow directions for more complicated stuff, as long as there's a detailed step by step instruction.

Anyway, that's it and thanks in advance.

Vehek

• View Profile
Re: Help me dump the text from a SNES game.
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 04:27:27 pm »
I'm very bad at explaining things, but I've managed to find out how it reads the text.
S.O.S. encodes its text in 5-bit values. Once it gets the value, it converts the value into a text character.

reyvgm

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2012, 01:50:57 pm »
Hey, thanks for the reply!

Could you make a table file that allows me to read the text? Or tell me the hex codes for A and z so I can make it myself?

Although... would that even work?

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2012, 12:58:25 am »
If he's saying the game stores text in 5 bits per character, a table file alone isn't going to help.
You'd need a custom dumper to read the text 5 bits then convert to text/control code, and repeat.