News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Hey Hey everyone, I'm sure you get this alot on this board... i have a question  (Read 4362 times)

Spades

• View Profile
Hey all! Obviously i'm new to the board and i'm pretty new to the rom hacking scene. The other day i was playing Battle Grand Prix (One of my favorite SNES games) And i thought to myself 'hey it'd be cool to change the colors of the cars.... or even make a 2011 version of the game with all the Current F1 Teams, Drivers and Cars' So i got into researching how to do that through rom hacking since i knew it existed. After doing a bit of research i thought it would be simple. I downloaded Tile Layer Pro and opened the rom smc file. It looked wierd like i expected and eventually found the cars.... kinda. They were really confusing looking and i couldn't piece the tiles together. So i thought 'oh maybe i need to change the pallete.' Nope that didn't help at all either. So after doing more research i found out that SNES games could be compressed. I then figured, hey maybe Battle Grand Prix is compressed. Since then i've been racking my brain for the past 4 days trying to figure out Hexidecimal, which i've kinda learned, ASM and other programing things that i didn't really know before.... Its all still pretty confusing to me. I've tried messing with the cheats in zSnes but haven't gotten far there. Basically i'm needing help on where to get started. I thought this would be a simple task but i feel like i'm having to learn to much to do what i'm trying to do.  :banghead: <------- This little guy explains how i feel. Heheh! Anyway any type of help would do. Thanks!

-Spades 

Forbiddencreed

• View Profile