News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Help with a Chrono Trigger Accessories Hack  (Read 2299 times)

djg001

Help with a Chrono Trigger Accessories Hack
« on: August 22, 2011, 10:21:23 pm »
Hi everyone,

I am new to the ROM hacking community, and this is my first post to the forum here.  I would like to do a hack of the SNES Chrono Trigger that allows one to sell accessories like any other item.  Ideally, I’d like to set reasonable sale values for each one (e.g. half-price for the buyable ones, prices for others TBD), but would be happy just to have a method of clearing accessories from the inventory if the former is not possible.

I have gained only limited hacking experience so far, going through the provided tutorials to learn tile and text modifications.  I also have limited experience with some hacking utilities for various games, most notably Fable for the PC.  For Chrono Trigger, I have been toying with ctshopkeeper and Temporal Flux.  It looks like ctshopkeeper only allows alteration of what you can buy.  As for Temporal Flux, I see that there are extensive options for level, character, and enemy hacking, but I haven’t discovered a way to do what I want to do with the utility (if it even exists).

So I wanted to see if anyone else has thought of doing this kind of hack for Chrono Trigger (I searched and didn’t see anything on it).  If not, I would greatly appreciate some general guidance on how to tackle this task (e.g. whether it can be done with an existing utility, or if not, how I would go about identifying this kind of a variable, seeing as it is not possible at all to sell accessories in the native game).  I am not shy about putting in the time and effort, but I lack the conceptual plan to begin solving this issue.  I am also trying to get an idea of whether this is far beyond my ability at this point in time.

Thank you for your time.

Mauron

• Submission Reviewer