News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Summon Night Craft Sword Monogatari - Compression and text help  (Read 4685 times)

paranoodle

I've been wanting to play this game since I found out it existed (sometime around 2008), and after seeing several projects to translate it start and end, I thought I would just try it on my own.

The translation part shouldn't be too much trouble: I know enough Japanese to be able to translate fairly accurately if I'm allowed a dictionary. I've been hitting a few problems with the actual hacking of the ROM, though. Please keep in mind this is my very first attempt at modifying a game, and two days ago I had never touched a hex editor. However, I am currently studying IT, so most things I've used so far I at least knew a little about. I've worked with MIPS (which seems very close to ASM) and hexadecimal in decent amounts.

Now onto the work I've done and my current problem(s):

Since English characters are used in the naming screen, I take it I won't have to create my own font, and that I should get the text to display by using its table codes.
Thanks to Ritchburn's text dump (from GBATemp) I could see where the script was kept, and using breakpoints figured out it was compressed in lz77. I decompressed it and found readable text, very nicely encoded in Shift-JIS.
However,
1. I cannot locate the pointer tables, leading me to think they are possibly compressed as well.
2. There is a lot of non-text between dialogue bits, and I can't figure out what they're for.
3. I have absolutely no idea how to re-compress the text after modifying it in a way that would allow me to insert it again.

I've been told that using Cartographer and Atlas for extracting and inserting the script is the easiest way, but would that still work with compressed text? If not (which I expect is the case), how should I go about this?