News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Best ways to locate map data?  (Read 3346 times)

SpiralDrift

• View Profile
Best ways to locate map data?
« on: August 10, 2011, 11:31:13 am »
Hi, everyone. First off I'm new to the site but not completely new to ROM hacking. I am still learning though and could use a few tips...

Is there a basic procedure to follow when looking for map data? Just to clarify, I mean where in the ROM the layout of a level or dungeon is stored. If I can just locate it I'm sure I could figure out how to edit it from there. I understand that data is sometimes stored differently on different systems, and sometimes it can be compressed, so I should say the game I'm interested in at the moment is Shadowrun (Genesis), though I'm looking more for general tips that could apply to other games as well.

So far it seems like the first step should be to corrupt part of the ROM, then load up the game and note the differences. This seems like it could take forever, though. What other methods are there?

henke37

• View Profile
Re: Best ways to locate map data?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 04:16:46 pm »
There is the classical "try to look at bytes in a grid with different line widths" way. That usually identifies all sorts of tables and maps.

snarfblam

• Submission Reviewer
  • CANT HACK METROID
    • View Profile
    • snarfblam
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 05:43:44 pm »
I've never been a fan of corrupting. Seems like there are so many more direct approaches. Making educated guesses on what the the data might look like and searching for it and using a debugger to reverse-engineer the game's code are two methods that have served me well.

I started typing out a long explanation of how I approach this task, and then realized I already typed this out the other day. In the Hacking the original Metal Gear topic I explain how I dissected the level data format.