News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: need some advice regarding  (Read 5498 times)

ReyON

• Entry lvl hacker
    • View Profile
need some advice regarding
« on: July 11, 2011, 09:10:37 am »
hello , since i am a newbie i am posting here , i am sorry if this is the wrong section to post my problems.

1. I took super robot taisen R (Jap)(gba) as my first translation project. when i opened the rom in hexecute RC7 program, i am not able to view any Japanese fonts , instead i can only see gibberish text , even NJStar CJK viewer didn't help , below is the link to the pic of it.
http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn20/abs_kkk/srw%20R/glibberishtextsrwJ.jpg

2. I googled and checked if the problem is connected to compression of the fonts  but it seems the game maker has not compressed them , I opened the game in TilED and  the fonts are visible there , here is the link to the pic of it.
http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn20/abs_kkk/srw%20R/tilefontssrwR.jpg

3. I made a table file out of the remaining english alphabits which i could see in the hex editor , and here is the pic of it too.
http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn20/abs_kkk/srw%20R/srwRtable.jpg

what would be the next step after these?
active project : Super robot taisen G (gameboy), SD gundam G generation Advance (gba) {intermission menu translated}
Inactive project : Super robot taisen R (GBA)

Tito Santana

• View Profile
Re: need some advice regarding
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 09:26:10 am »
Do you have Japanese table file? If not, that is why Japanese won't show up in your hex editor. Also, most hackers prefer WindHex instead of Hexecute now.

ReyON

• Entry lvl hacker
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2011, 09:31:16 am »
no i dont have japanese table file, how will i make it if i cannot view the japanese fonts in the hex editer?
active project : Super robot taisen G (gameboy), SD gundam G generation Advance (gba) {intermission menu translated}

Tito Santana

• View Profile