News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: In need of assistance, Super Mario Bros 3 and hex editing.  (Read 5209 times)

esmekalicreeyahh

• I'm Aubrey. I'm still a beginner hah.
    • View Profile
In need of assistance, Super Mario Bros 3 and hex editing.
« on: April 16, 2011, 06:16:44 pm »
I'm using FCEU's  hex editor to edit the music on Super Mario Bros 3 for each world map.

I'm having a hard time understanding exactly what to change. I understand a little about hex addresses but that's pretty much it.

I understand that these are the addresses for world maps

0x3C424-0x3C42C (0x9) - Music for world maps.

However I don't know how many bytes (0x9) are or how to change them because whenever I go to try to change them the sound on the world map doesnt change. It's irritating a bit. Is there anyone who could explain this to me. I'd be greatful.

I'm not even sure if I'm even editing the right hexes.
Thank you.
-Aubrey
That's not very Chanel of you. :|

KaBooM!

• Bestower Of Blue Bombs, Emissary Of Enigma
    • View Profile
Re: In need of assistance, Super Mario Bros 3 and hex editing.
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2011, 07:59:22 pm »
I have never personally dealt with editing Super Mario 3, but I have dealt with your level of frustration, and still do to this day.  :banghead: ROMhacking, I have discovered, is a never-ending learning process. I've been plugging away at it in one form or another for the past six-and-a-half years and even now I still feel like a beginner at it in many respects. Despite all this, let's see if we can help you out a bit and get you pointed in the right direction...