News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?  (Read 4502 times)

Gideon Zhi

  • IRC Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3529
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?
« on: April 11, 2011, 03:35:56 pm »
I just installed PHP to use this thing - a few of my older projects are set up for it - but whenever I run it, it just echoes itself to the command line. I've doublechecked my Windows Path variable (it's Win 7 Pro, btw) and PHP is indeed in the path. I've also rebooted after installing php, but still - nothing. Here's the command I'm running it with:

php feidian.php -cr customdef,16,28,0x46238 game.smc output.bmp

What am I doing wrong?

Edit: Fixed it. Replaced every <? at the top of FEIDIAN's source files with <?php and it worked :p
« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 04:30:30 pm by Gideon Zhi »

Mauron

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
    • View Profile
Re: Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 06:04:47 pm »
For reference, an alternate solution would be to change the short_open_tag setting in your php.ini file.
Mauron wuz here.

Nightcrawler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5784
    • View Profile
    • Nightcrawler's Translation Corporation
Re: Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2011, 08:40:38 am »
You didn't have to change that in all files. It's a configuration setting in php.ini. Someone really should make a simpler to use FEIDIAN like utility. PHP is a pain to use on Windows and it's not the most intuitive program to use after that.
TransCorp - Over 20 years of community dedication.
Dual Orb 2, Wozz, Emerald Dragon, Tenshi No Uta, Glory of Heracles IV SFC/SNES Translations

DQ Chao284

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2011, 04:00:16 am »
You didn't have to change that in all files. It's a configuration setting in php.ini. Someone really should make a simpler to use FEIDIAN like utility. PHP is a pain to use on Windows and it's not the most intuitive program to use after that.
Well I would agree, but then again when you have games that for example are used for both Huffman Compression and Fixed Width fonts, this is the only program that nearly matches to that of the Famicom Dev Kit, as well as it's related hardware, Crystal Tile only has some tools that may get around this problem(including resizing Fixed Width Fnots with a limited format), but not all of them.

Besides if this was done in .NET Framework 2.0 or higher for the UI version(so Windows 2000 and XP users can use it), then it might be a better choice of options on it, maybe include some files that the older Consules would use, and not rely on php files and command line to be added.

Nightcrawler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5784
    • View Profile
    • Nightcrawler's Translation Corporation
Re: Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2011, 08:38:28 am »
The best advantage of a GUI based utility for this would be real-time preview. You put in your tile definition and a few settings and see the preview results instantly. That would really help make it more intuitive.
TransCorp - Over 20 years of community dedication.
Dual Orb 2, Wozz, Emerald Dragon, Tenshi No Uta, Glory of Heracles IV SFC/SNES Translations

DQ Chao284

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Has anyone used FEIDIAN recently?
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2011, 05:54:52 pm »
The best advantage of a GUI based utility for this would be real-time preview. You put in your tile definition and a few settings and see the preview results instantly. That would really help make it more intuitive.
Yea, in that format, besides sometimes it is hard having to figure out the more sophisticated type graphics that use Fixed Width would do very well, I mean we do have Crystal Tile, Tile Layer Pro, Tile Molester, and of course YY-CHR that are of the standard stuff, but we all know about those things, well maybe not so much for Crystal Tile since it is made in China, but also recently discontinued support for Windows 2000 and Windows XP since it is hard to keep maintaing it.

Besides that, it would also be good to have an added clipboard function so that if you have one of the 4 programs above or a Paint program, it would make it more easier to transfer stuff to that.

Then again all of these are just my thoughts on the subject anyway.